“Now That’s A Joke”

Me, a serious poet?
Now that’s a joke.
I’m just a jingle writer
A shallow bloke.

I’ve tried my hand at romance
And drama too.
What makes a tale a poem
I’ve not a clue.

However I get pleasure
Each time I try.
And one day I’ll write free form
Like Claude and Bri.

Asteria’s stars will swirl
The moon’ll swoon
And the cool west wind will blow
A Louie tune.

So watch out world I’m growing
Now there’s a threat.
I may give up my jingles
But not just yet.

(Written for dVerse Poetics–Poetically Evolving. March 4, 2014.)

About vbholmes

V. B. Holmes Is the author of REVERBERATION, THE NOVEL, and has worked as an editor, writer, researcher and artist. Blog, vbreverb.wordpress.com, features poetry and flash fiction.
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Poetry, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to “Now That’s A Joke”

  1. Brian Miller says:

    ha. its all a growing thing you know…i guess i have become comfortable with being a poet…maybe…smiles…i dont ever want to arrive you know…or feel i have….so much left to learn…you are solid though

  2. awe, cute poem… that’s the goal tho… growth! you can never know too much

  3. rmp says:

    oh, I don’t think you have to give up the jingles to write poetry. I’m not sure what constitutes a serious poet or how a tale sound as a poem (though I fake both well enough), but I’d say you’re on the write track.

  4. hanna says:

    Chuckle.

  5. billgncs says:

    poetry for the common chap
    like me who always needs a map

    VB – I think your poetry is strong.

  6. kkkkaty1 says:

    I guess it’s all a process in the making….changing constantly….you thrive on writing it’s clear

  7. ayala says:

    You can do it all ! No need to give up one for the other :)

  8. Mary says:

    Oh, I wouldn’t be in a hurry to give up your style of writing! Clear & understandable definitely works for me.

  9. I say, do it all. What ever speaks to you. It’s always enjoyable to read.:)

  10. Jingle’s maybe .. but then there’s also Sammy .. I would guess he could become poetic to… :-) I miss him

    • vbholmes says:

      Five notches on his gun butt
      Blade in his sock.
      You’re looking for a hitman?
      Turn left, then knock.
      If you can pass the first test
      and catch the cat
      You will find the man they call
      Sammy the Gat.
      Thanks, Bjorn. Sammy’s a jingle-man, too.

  11. Hope says:

    ah! love it! :)

  12. You may call them jingles but they are poetry to my ear.

  13. claudia says:

    oh that made me smile.. so much to learn for all of us…and what an adventurous path… i think the way is the goal…and having fun the main thing for me..smiles

  14. Very clever – sounds like a poem to me – it’s music in my ear and magic in my heart. Works and if it does, I will call it a poem and you a poet!

Leave a Reply

