“Rights”

Thousands gather in Tahrir Square
Fifty of them female.
Heads covered and heads bare
The women meet so they can rail.

“Stop harassment. We want our rights.”
Their shouts are loud and true.
Hordes of bullies start their fights
And persecution reigns anew.

Women run, the men chase after
And cull some from the crowd.
Bursts of cruel laughter
Leave many women shamed and cowed.

The future speaks of protests rare
Where girls participate.
Doors are closed, locked with care
As hopes and dreams evaporate.

(Based on AP article, “Mob descends on Egyptian women”, June 9, 2012.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Poetry, Short Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Rights”

  1. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

    • vbholmes says:

      As far as leaving your “campsite as good as when I arrived”…it looks like you littered my blog with lots of very well-appreciated “likes”! Many thanks for visiting and the time you took to read my posts. I’ve been following you and enjoy yours as well.

Leave a Reply

