“Revenge” (Flash Fiction)

I sit behind the wheel
of my brand-new car.
The engine is running.
I put it in gear.
A woman on a bicycle
rides into view.
A child. There’s a child
in a seat on the back.
They pass without seeing me.
I hesitate. There’s a child.
Not part of the plan.
I step on the gas
and head for the bike.
We collide.
Bodies fly through the air
and land on the street
in front of my car.
I don’t see the child.
I run over the woman.
She’s under my wheels.
People circle.
The ambulance arrives.
I take off my clothes
and bare my pain.
I lie in front of the van.
The woman is in the van.
The child. The child they pull
from under my car.
I don’t move.
They aim guns at my head.
I don’t move.
The ambulance can’t move.
I don’t want them to move.
She stole my husband.
The child. The child is my husband’s.
Not mine.
I feel hands on my body.
Strangers force me to my feet.
The ambulance races away
its sirens blaring
taking the woman to the hospital.
And the child. There was a child.
I have none.

(Suggested by “Woman Strips Naked and Blocks Ambulance Carrying Away Her Husband’s Injured Mistress“, The Huffington Post, June 28, 2012.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

