“Desolation”

Dead branches slice the viewscape
Like the first rivulets
Of paint poured onto
A Jackson Pollock canvas.
The flat, two-dimensional scars
Seek further definition
From the solitary bird
That sits on its battered perch.
But it spreads its wings
And flies away.

(Inspired by “Untitled“, Friday Fictioneers photo on Madison-Woods.com, July 13, 2012.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Poetry, Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to “Desolation”

  1. boomiebol says:

    Thanks o much for stopping by my blog

  2. Effective choice of interesting words and images.

  3. Kwadwo says:

    I like this poem, even though I don’t fully understand it.

    http://logo-ligi.com/2012/07/12/soliloquy-of-a-disgruntled-raven/

  4. vbholmes says:

    Thanks, Kwadwo. The pattern of the dead branches against the stark background reminded me of an abstract expressionist painting. I chose Jackson Pollock because he dripped and poured paint on his canvases so his beginning effort could, perhaps, have looked something like the photo.

  5. Original interpretation, refreshing take on the prompt. Love the moving image, refusing to cooperate.
    http://wp.me/s1nUrn-buzzard

  6. vbholmes says:

    Many thanks for your insightful comment–I hadn’t actually thought of the bird’s flight as a lack of cooperation, but you’re right, its absence renders the scene mundane.

  7. Thank you for putting those branches into words for me! Every time I see the picture I’m so struck by the lines of it, but hadn’t come up with any way of describing them. Awesome!

    • vbholmes says:

      Thanks for visiting my site. Between the time you wrote this comment and I read your blog, you came up with a great story! Enjoyed reading Siren’s post and song as well.

  8. Stacey says:

    Very well executed. Loved “Dead branches slice the viewscape” and “The flat, two-dimensional scars” 🙂

  9. vbholmes says:

    Many thanks for your comment–Wonderful imagery in your “Flight”–I especially liked “to flit and zip and zoom until pain overwhelmed”.

  10. Sandra says:

    It’s interesting that the branches against the background have caught your attention; I looked no further than the bird itself for my inspiration. An enjoyable piece that opened up a new dimension.

    http://castelsarrasin.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/every-cloud-friday-fictioneers-july-2012/

  11. vbholmes says:

    Many thanks for your observation. I enjoyed your take on the photo as well–unique and well done.

  12. I really liked the way the poem brought the picture to life. From the dead, flat branches to the flight of the bird. I like the layers in Pollock’s paintings too. Well done piece.

    https://mysocalleddutchlife.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/canyon-ff-friday-the-13th-of-july-12/

  13. vbholmes says:

    Many thanks–am following your site and really appreciate your unique sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

