“The Playground”

A shiny, vinyl-clad fence
Surrounds the playground
Of my youth.
A heavy lock of steel
Denies access
To the children who
Congregate in the street.
I relive the games
Played on asphalt
Swept clear of snow
In winter
Cursed with stored heat
In summer.
I remember the water bottle
With the rusty spigot
Which hung on a post
Where we would cup
Our hands to drink
Or splash our faces
For relief.
I see the new bottle
With the new spigot
Which hangs on the new fence
Behind the locked gate
Out of reach
Of the children
Who play in the street.
And I am sad.

(Inspired by “Faucet/Tap“, Friday Fictioneers photo on madison-woods.com, July 27, 2012.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Poetry, Short Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to “The Playground”

  1. claireful says:

    A lovely nostalgic feeling to this piece of writing. And the last line was perfect.

    http://worksbyclaire.wordpress.com/2012/07/26/short-story-bucket-of-ice/

  2. It’s unfortunately that this situation is so true to life. Lawsuits or the threat of them, nothing being an accident anymore, has a lot to answer for!!

    • vbholmes says:

      Thanks for commenting–it seems any available public money is going to the formal parks while the neighborhood playgrounds are neglected. Enjoyed reading your story–sad message as well.

      • Glad you enjoyed it. Thankfully we’re currently getting some rain and had a bit yesterday as well. It’s all appreciated, especially when it doesn’t come as a destructive storm.

  3. billgncs says:

    I really liked this…. nice

    • vbholmes says:

      Thanks! I see your bike in your Gravitar–hope it survived the crash and that you heal quickly.

      • billgncs says:

        thanks — the bike is well, my body broke it’s fall.

        looks like surgery on wed for pins, and then 6-8 weeks ot healing with no riding.

        thanks for stopping by and asking — bw

  4. Sandra says:

    So true, you turned it back again nicely.

  5. unspywriter says:

    Very nice juxtaposition of past and present and how progress isn’t necessarily a good thing.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/shadows/

  6. New, but out of reach. Well expressed. An older generation of fond memories and a younger generation being teased by something they needed but were not allowed to enjoy.

    http://ebooksscifi.wordpress.com/2012/07/27/kingdom-come-by-ilyan-kei-lavanway-for-madison-woods-friday-fictioneers-100-word-flash-fiction/

  7. Brian Benoit says:

    The nicest part of this was the return of the lock image, and the way it feels like the speaker is locked out of a return to childhood. Great images throughout too, though, and a nice flow.

    Brian (http://pinionpost.com/2012/07/27/sugartooth/)

  8. Russell says:

    This was very good, and sure brought back memories. Nobody locked their doors in my youth and they sure didn’t care for kids getting a drink from the faucet–and we always made sure to shut it off.
    Thanks for visiting & commenting on mine. 🙂

  9. It does seem that nostalgia is always tinged with sadness, mourning for things of the past which no longer exist. Great poem!

  10. vbholmes says:

    Thanks for the compliment. I look forward to reading more about Marci and her world. Good story!

  11. beebeesworld says:

    Thanks for reading my blog on Lifes’ Little Lesssons, and for your thoughtful comment. So much of my life seems like this innocence interrupted by callousness. I enjoyed reading some of your artcles, noticed you participate i Friday Fictioneers as well. I will follow your blog and look forward to reading more. I hope you will check out some of my other articles and follow my blog as well. Best wishes, beebeesworld

  12. vbholmes says:

    Thanks for your comments and following my blog–I revisited yours and am now a follower. I also read your post “A week…” and you did a great job of capturiing the enjoyment of the last of the schedule-free days of summer.

    • beebeesworld says:

      Thanks-somehow thru your blog, i found a site called The Big Blog Collection-I cant seem to figure out how to look up a specific blog, I got onto this thru what I thought was someone on your blog, tried to sign up, but couldn’t get it to work-I have had so much frustration with adding widgets-just when I think, “I’ve got it” it doesn’t work again. Have you done many widgets-if so, how did it work for you? Thanks again for reading. beebeesworld

      • vbholmes says:

        Hi, I don’t think you found “The Big Blog Collection” on my site, but I googled it, and it came right up, so you”ll be able to find it without any trouble. I haven’t heard of it before so can’t recommend (or not recommend) it. Good luck!

      • beebeesworld says:

        You are right, it was on the next blog I looked at, and after doing the same thing I had done 10 times, I finally got the button-sorry to bother you with that. I did enjoy your site and will be back!
        This “Big Blog Collection” is from across the pond-we’ll see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

