“The Makeup Artist”

I work to restore the beauty
Of the time-worn woman
In front of me.
I begin with a translucent moisturizer
And follow with a soft rose blush
To highlight her cheekbones.
I gently smooth
On light-blue eye shadow;
Draw a thin auburn line
Along the upper lids;
Fill in her fine lashes
With dark brown mascara.
I finish with a subtle dusting
of powder.
I adjust the pink lights
Which warm and soften her skin,
The contours of her face.
I open the doors
To the family members
Who silently file in
To whisper their goodbyes
To the deceased.

(Inspired by “Blush”, Lillie McFerrin, Five Sentence Fiction, August 29, 2012.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to “The Makeup Artist”

  1. Perfect description. I am following the makeup artist every step of the way as if I am holding the brush.

  2. vbholmes says:

    Thanks for the compliment. I suspect it takes great skill to be an accomplished makeup artist–especially when your subject can’t tell you when you’re on the right track.

  3. Sandra says:

    I didn’t see where this was going, so the ending was extremely powerful. Nice work.

  4. lisashambrook says:

    Sensitive and poignant, lovely words!

  5. vbholmes says:

    Many thanks! I enjoyed your post as well.

  6. Paul says:

    Wow, you amaze me. I didn’t like it at first. But knowing it was you, I continued reading. Very powerful. I ended up loving it!

  7. vbholmes says:

    I can appreciate your lack of interest in translucent moisturizer, soft rose blush and light-blue eye shadow and truly appreciate your sticking it out to the end–many thanks for the great comment!

  8. Joyce says:

    I am just now getting to your poems and stories. I love all of them. They flow beautifully with vivid, rich, descriptive images. Very nice. Couldn’t fine the comment section on some so will put the one here for them all. Thanks for stopping by mine and commenting, too.

  9. billgncs says:

    very nice twist, completely surprised me

Leave a Reply

