“The Hot Bod With The Hot Rod”

I stand by the window in the Toot Sweet deli and watch this totally stacked dame swing it across the street. I exit that dump just as some jumbo joe jockeys into position to catch him an eyeful of the bodacious home goods out front. I start to make my move when she puts it in overdrive and gives him a knee where no knee belongs.
I step over the body and sidle up to her. She gives me the head-to-toe and says, “Sammy, the Gat. I been expecting you.”
I see the heat in her hand and the double-cross in her eyes as she squeezes the popper.
And I thought I was the hit man.

THE GATIONARY of Sammy Speak
bodacious
: adj. extravagant, outrageous, remarkable.   dame: n. woman.
head-to-toe: n. full-body scrutiny.   heat: n. gun.   hit man: n. assassin.
home goods: n. part of the female anatomy.   jockey: v. maneuver.
jumbo joe: n. oversized oafish rube.   overdrive: n. high gear.   popper: n. gun.
showcase: v.  to display.   swing it: v. to strut or flounce with a provocative gait.
totally stacked: adj. voluptuous, well-built.

(Inspired by Rochelle Wisoff-Field’s photo, Friday Fictioneers, October 26, 2012.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Poetry, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to “The Hot Bod With The Hot Rod”

  1. billgncs says:

    channeling the inner Dashiell Hammett? Like it.

  2. Loved the ending. Of course, it sounded to me like he derserved it. Jerk.

  3. Guess that’ll larn ’em. Well done in the traditional hard-boiled sense (as Bill already said above.)

  4. Sandra says:

    One tough dame hey? Nice one, great voice.

  5. Tom Poet says:

    Vb,
    This piece had a nice rhythm to it. It be bopped along with it’s characters. Strong voice. Well done.

    Tom

  6. Linda says:

    Never underestimate just how much various assets can be used as a distraction – that was brilliant and a great take on the photo too. Thanks for sharing it. 🙂

  7. Anne Orchard says:

    What a great character, told so convincingly. Not sure how he lived to tell the tale!

  8. brudberg says:

    I love “a knee were no knee belong” ouch

  9. Well I liked that a lot. I’ve never read anything in that voice before, not sure I’d like it from just anyone, but you did a great job of it.

  10. Does this mean that Sammy the Gat sleeps with the fishes? What a fun and unique use of the prompt. I really like it!

  11. Wow, wow and WOW! Sucked me in. It had me going in one direction then turned me on my ear! Don’t underestimate the curvy girl!

  12. Hi V.B.,
    I would never have gotten hard boiled out of this photo, but you did, and you pulled it off extremely well. My Sam Spade hat is off to you. Ron

    • vb holmes says:

      Sammy’s been bubbling around in my brain for a while, and when I saw Rochelle’s picture, I asked myself, “Where’s the last place you’d find Sammy, the Gat?” And the answer was: At the Toot Sweet deli in Podunk, PA. And Sammy was born.

  13. Dear VB,

    Sammy the Gat lives! She only winged him because secretly, in her heart of tender hearts, she loves him dearly, but a contract is a contract, so ahe had to shoot him. They’ll both deal with the fallout later.

    I thought this story was sooooo good. Great voice, smooth pace and a foreordained ending. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  14. unspywriter says:

    Love the noir! Great job with the voice of the narrator. Very authentic. Nice work!

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/shrine/

  15. Pete says:

    Great use of language and imagery, well done.

  16. Lora says:

    I feel this is their game. She didn’t hurt him. They took off on his Harley, checked into a New Jersey Roadside Hooker Motel and had hot, hot, hot ….you know what !!!

  17. vb holmes says:

    Hmmmm….Have to think on Sammy’s next move–business or pleasure?

  18. Nice interpretation. Can never go wrong with hardboiled

  19. Russell says:

    Outstanding piece, and the writing was good too. Can’t wait for the next installment.

  20. Sabio Lantz says:

    I loved reading this. Felt like you really spoke that language. I wonder how you got so good at that — reincarnations? watch too many movies?

  21. Pingback: Sammy the Gat: “Oozin’ Liquid Rubies” | vb's reverbs

  22. summerstommy2 says:

    This was a lot of fun to read vb. Loved the use of slang.

Leave a Reply

