Sammy the Gat: “Oozin’ Liquid Rubies”

(Follow-up to “The Hot Bod with The Hot Rod“)

Ka-boom!
I do a 360, then double-check the old spectacles, testicles, watch and wallet bit along with my gut, chest and noggin. There’s blood on my mitt and a nick on my ear lobe, but no hole in my head.
Normally, I’m a pretty cool customer, but right now, I’m oozin’ liquid rubies all over my favorite Italian threads and I’m sore.
I send a quizzer at the skirt who’s sportin’ the smokin’ roscoe and she finger-flicks over my shoulder.
I turn. The Carny’s in town. I shoulda known. The gun-totin’ Belinda Beauvais (aka: Betty Kazminski): P.I., gumshoe, dick extraordinaire, doubles as “Madame Zoraz, Society Seer” (aka: undercover jane).
And now I know she’s lookin’ for more outta me than a taste of my ear lobe.

THE GATIONARY of Sammy Speak
beanshooter: n. gun.   carny: n. carnival.   dick: n. detective.
do a 360: v. turn all the way around.
double-check the old spectacles, testicles, watch and wallet:
v: make sure everything is okay (punch line of a classic joke).
finger-flick: n. cool pointing motion.   frail: n. woman.
jackin’ up: v. setting up.   jane: n. woman.
liquid rubies: n. blood.   mitt: hand, fist.
mogate: v. get up and go.   noggin: n. head.
pate: n. head.   quizzer: n. questioning look.
roscoe: n. gun.   skirt: n. woman.
sore: adj. angry.   threads: n. clothes.

(Inspired by Ted Strutz’photo, Rochellewisofffields.com, Friday Fictioneers, October 31, 2012.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Sammy the Gat: “Oozin’ Liquid Rubies”

  1. Nice ying to last week’s yang, VB. So Sammy doesn’t sleep with the fishes…yet. Gotta love the voice. 🙂

  2. Sabio Lantz says:

    Ah, another gangsta thing — again, good. But I can’t see how this relates to the picture at all. Am I missin’ something. Great writing though.

  3. Linda says:

    I love the conversation and the style of writing, it puts me in mind of the old black and white movies I loved as a child – where the good guy (down at heal, righting other people’s wrongs) always wins in the end, even if he doesn’t get the girl.

  4. janet says:

    The voice is once again perfect. Another fair I’d rather avoid.

  5. Sandra says:

    You’ve got this voice right down to the very last inflection. Good one!

  6. Love the first two lines. This is great, VB.You write in a classy gangsta style.

  7. brudberg says:

    Where do we spot all this blood 🙂 great writing.

  8. Hi V.B.,
    This is authentic hard-boiled reality. You really created a litttle masterpiece. ron

  9. Like the voice here. Nice take on the picture

  10. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear VB,

    Don’t forget this voice, these characters. There’s something classic about them. I dig them. You dig?

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • vb holmes says:

      I definitely dig! And truly appreciate your “there’s something classic about them” comment. Many thanks! Your “Future’s so Bright” is a successful depiction of desperation–good story.

  11. unspywriter says:

    Again, the voice here is sooooo authentic. And I love the title!

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/a-ghosts-tale/

  12. Debra Kristi says:

    You nailed that gangster style. Sure glad Sammy doesn’t have any unwanted holes in his head. 😀 Great voice! I

  13. rich says:

    i’m getting the feel of the cadence of the speaker. but i’m not sure if he’s bleeding or not, and if anyone else notices the “kaboom.”

  14. billgncs says:

    I love this, “sore” is such a good word. Looking forward to more.

  15. Lora says:

    Living in NYC, I’ve met some “gansta types” and a few who are rumored to be “sleeping with the fishes.” I guess by your story, you’ve met a few also. If not, you managed to get that “gansta” talk down. Nice going.

    • vb holmes says:

      Many thanks! As yet, I haven’t had the pleasure of making the acquaintance of anyone who has ended up sleeping with the fishes–waiting to see what the future brings. Liked your “Seaside Heights”.

  16. Like isn’t strong enough. I love this! Language is so powerful and your vernacular sets tone, character and place in one ruby drop.

  17. Mike says:

    I enjoyed the fast pace of this short piece.
    Almost felt like I was hiding behind a chair watching all this action take place.

  18. brian miller says:

    ha, love it….love the language in it…and the creativity…def has that noir gumshoe feel to it…finger flicked the roscoe….ha…a treat!

  19. vb holmes says:

    Many thanks! Really liked your “Black Eyes of Ignorance”…disturbing.

  20. tedstrutz says:

    Wow… That’s the most novel response to that prompt. Some interesting language there.

  21. Great job. So far all I’ve read are completely different. This was a great prompt.

  22. Tessa says:

    I decided to follow your blog. I really enjoyed that little piece.

  23. rgayer55 says:

    I like action and you give us plenty. Great characters and strong voice. Well done.

  24. This holds a lot of atmosphere, VB, simply through the narrative voice – well done! Reminds me of old movies, too 🙂

  25. wmqcolby says:

    You have a way with those metaphors! So, who’s getting knocked off tonight? 🙂

Leave a Reply

