Sammy, the Gat: “My Dough Loaf Gets A Poke”

(Glossary at end.)

The slicked-backs go first class while I got me an aisle cushion for an in-a-flash vanishing act. I check and I’m bundled next to a little ol’ gray-hair in Michael Kors studded high tops. No spook or mob job here. I pop a dream-maker and I’m on my way out before we take off.
I’m hallucinatin’ green pastures and English castles when my dough loaf gets a poke. I force one looker open and there’s a purrbox on my tray table—with its clawholder on my blower. And the little ol’ wrinkly on my left looks like a hood from Chi. Got trouble but can’t fight the snoozers. The ol’ gray matter blacks out; my oglers and headpiece shut down, and I return to la-la land.

(Click to catch up on Sammy, The Gat.)

THE GATIONARY of Sammy Speak

aisle cushion: n. aisle seat.   blower: n. mouth.   Chi: n. Chicago.   
clawholder
: n. animal paw. dough loaf: n. face.
dream-maker: n. tranquilizer.   gray-hair: n. old person.
gray matter blacks out
: brain power shuts down.   headpiece: n. brain.
high tops
: n. sneakers.   in-a-flash vanishing act: n. quick getaway.
la-la land
: n. euphoric state.   looker: n. eyeball.   mob job: n. mob member.
ogler
: n. eyeball.   purrbox: n. cat.   slicked-back: n. suspicious character.
snoozer
: n. tranquilizer.   spook: n. government espionage agent.
wrinkly
: n. old person.

 (Photo by Scott Vannatter, Friday Fictioneers, December 21, 2012)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Short Fiction, Short Story, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sammy, the Gat: “My Dough Loaf Gets A Poke”

  1. Sammy’s in trouble now. Those dream makers will do every time. Looking forward to seeing how he gets out of this one.

  2. JackieP says:

    oh oh, you just gotta watch the wrinkly ones. I got almost all of it except for a couple. Looking forward to the next chapter!

  3. billgncs says:

    I work in chi….. Sammy watch out for them hoods!

    glad to see him back!

  4. Nice to see you, Sammy.

  5. ManicDdaily says:

    Super charming. Well done with the colloquialisms! Dialect! Meow-talk. k.

  6. Abraham says:

    I like the word ‘purrbox’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

