Sammy, the Gat: “My Poppin’ Pupes Beat Retreat.”

(Glossary at end.)

My poppin’ pupes beat retreat when they zero in on Lefty Louis. Now Lefty ain’t one to drop anchor in Prince Willie’s Wayward Wanderers’ Wasteland so I got reason to flip a finger around the flamer in my coat pocket.
“Stay cool, Sammy,” Lefty whispers, as he grab-bags my meat-hook and whiplashes my widgets. I angel-wing a big one to the string-puller in the sky for not lettin’ my firecracker  blast off and take a toe. Or worse.
“I got a message from the boys,” he says as he double-balls the environs. “23 Hasting. 12:30.”
My hairy eye liners go up.
Lefty, a fedster?
Naw.
Lefty, a big-wig mob-slob?
Naw
Lefty, a two-bit watch-and-wallet man?
Yeah.
So? Why’s he lookin’ like my Big Ben go-to boy?
And why am I way more than 50 long ones from my familiars.

(Click to catch up on Sammy, the Gat.)

THE GATIONARY of Sammy Speak

angel-wing: v. to send up.   Big Ben go-to boy: n. London contact.
big one: n. a thank you.   blast off: v. to fire.
double-ball: v. to check out.   firecracker: n. gun.   flamer: n. trigger.
grab-bag: v. to grasp.   meat hook: n. hand.   poppin’ pupes: n. eyeballs.
Prince Willie’s Wayward Wanderers’ Wasteland: n. London airport.
string-puller in the sky: n. celestial being.   widget: n. finger.

 

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Poetry, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sammy, the Gat: “My Poppin’ Pupes Beat Retreat.”

  1. billgncs says:

    I always like Sammy’s colorful vernacular.

  2. vbholmes says:

    Thanks, Bill-check out “The Assignment” above. Janet guessed it was a Sammy incarnation speaking English–a rather dull boy, if you ask me.

Leave a Reply

