“Death in the Country”

I stare at the vine-covered barn with its rotting wood, wretched roof, overgrown barnyard. A door opens and a woman runs from the building as a man holding a pistol steps into the opening. Her body stiffens as she stops, clutches her side, then falls to the ground.

I hear the soft clicks of a camera and turn toward the bearded photographer standing by my side. I do not need to see the proofs. I know he’s captured the perfect shot for the posters advertising “Death in the Country”, my new movie which is due to be released in June.

Photo by Janet Webb, Friday Fictioneers, February 22, 2013.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Poetry, Short Fiction, Short Story, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to “Death in the Country”

  1. Great job original take in the prompt.

  2. deanabo says:

    This was a great idea!

  3. kz says:

    i agree, great unique take 🙂

  4. vb, Sammy approves.

    janet

  5. Sandra says:

    Great take on the prompt! Well done.

  6. Dear VB,
    A refreshing take on the prompt. Good job!
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  7. Joe Owens says:

    Ah I have not seen any Friday Fictioneers story since I joined in December go in this direction. Original and inventive. The drama was staged, but I feared it might be real.

  8. billgncs says:

    Man, I was waiting for the photographer to become company to the deceased!

  9. Parul says:

    Oh that’s very different!
    All sorts of possibilities came to my mind as I read the narrator turn to the bearded man, but none was about a movie endorsement!
    Very original!

  10. Good luck with your premiere.

  11. Sounds like a great movie 🙂

  12. JackieP says:

    Nice take on the picture. Quite clever. “-)

  13. Hi V.B.,
    Nice, the way you twisted reality. At first I thought they were real memories, until you revealed the movie. Great turnaround. Ron

  14. Sure hope it wasn’t real. Hate it when I see photographs or video of people suffering and the photographer just keeps shooting pics. WHY DON’T THEY HELP!!

  15. nightlake says:

    this was a good write-up

Leave a Reply

