Sammy, the Gat: “The Heinz 57 Man”

(Sammy, the Gat, is a continuing story.)

Glossary at end.

Now I’m an ace five-notches hit man, and Johnnie Pickles, a two-bit like-kind, has me in his view finder. I got no druthers. I gotta go after him.
I two-step it up the three-floor but the Heinz 57 Man ain’t on the top rung.  Nothin’ here but a single-lane pedestriway and wall-to-wall air. I binoc it over the hold-back and see Johnnie’s takin’ the big sleep on the hard stuff below.
I fig I trigged his eternal chill and that’ll count for six on my handle ’til a sky-divin’ potted lily transplants itself on Rip van Winkle’s chest. Then I eye-spy the studded high tops toe-to-heel against my scuffies.

THE GATIONARY of Sammy Speak

binoc: v. to look.   hard stuff: n. concrete pad, sidewalk.   Heinz 57 Man: n. Johnnie Pickles.
hold-back: n. railing.   scuffies: n. well-worn shoes.   single-lane pedestriway: n. walkway.
takin’ the big sleep: v. has met his maker.   three-floor: n. height of staircase, building.
trig: v. to trigger, cause.   two-bit like-kind: n. small-time wannabe hit man.
wall-to-wall air: n. open-air observation deck.

(Click to catch up on Sammy, the Gat.)

(Photo by Lora Mitchell. Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, Friday Fictioneers, March 15, 2013.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sammy, the Gat: “The Heinz 57 Man”

  1. JackieP says:

    I admit I had to look at the glossery this time for a couple of them. 🙂 Still enjoyed the heck out of it though.

  2. Hi VB,
    Love the way you worked the lilies into this one. 😉
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  3. I like the lilies, too!

    janet

  4. vbholmes says:

    Just worked–thanks, Janet.

  5. elappleby says:

    I always love a bit of Sammy the Gat! It’s like an almost but not quite foreign language. You get the gist without understanding all the words. Very enjoyable.

  6. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear VB,

    This s one of my favorite Gat man pieces.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  7. vbholmes says:

    Thanks, Doug–your moving tribute to your friend is a favorite of mine.

  8. Joe Owens says:

    Versatile that you can include the lilies in this story.

Leave a Reply

