“Climbing the Ladder”

Your purple dress is very chic
Your orange shoes they do not squeak
Your hair it hangs straight down.
A necklace of fake di-a-monds
And gold-plate bracelets which weigh tons
You’re dressed to wow the town.

The do is casual you see
The guests are dressed informally
You spent your dough for naught.
They turn their backs and glance away
You look for refuge from the fray
And hide the bling you brought.

As luck of birth some did adorn
Not all were to the manor born
But chance to look the part.
Next time you’d best find out the dress
And practice up on your finesse
And act as if you’re smart.

(Written for dVersePoets, “Just Say What You Don’t Mean: Irony”. April 4, 2013.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Poetry, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to “Climbing the Ladder”

  1. brian miller says:

    ha…putting on airs can def backfire if you try to play it in th wrong company, may look nice but it is easy to see you are out of place…orange shoes are rather bold too…smiles…i will go casual any day…

  2. This happened to me in reverse once, A lady I don’t know invited me to a surprise party for a mutual friend. She said it was very casual, that people may ride horses or swim etc. So I dressed the part and everyone showed up very dressed up in my view. I quickly figured out the rest of the crowd were a few notches about my social stratum.

  3. Shawna says:

    I like the title and the first two lines. 🙂

  4. dragyonfly says:

    Purple dress and orange shoes?? Atrocious on any occasion!! (Spoken like a true southern woman) But you see some folk don’t dress for others they dress for themselves. And you MUST admire that spirit!! (spokesperson for the tacky.)

    • vbholmes says:

      Unfortunately, my poor heroine isn’t able to pull it off right now. Give her time, she just may make it, and then, purple and orange will be the new black.

  5. Sabio Lantz says:

    Very fun — and incredible verse and rhyme. I agree with dragyonfly — play the counter game: dress tacky and outrageous — live as if you are an insane nobility! Stay awake, and you may drag a few with you! Nicely done, VB

    • vbholmes says:

      Many thanks, Sabio. Talk about tacky and outrageous–I think you well outdid me in those categories. Fun example of irony.

      • Sabio Lantz says:

        ‘Tis an art, perhaps. One which makes for few friends, but the ones that are left, are deep and fun as hell, eh? Reflexive scripts fall out of our hands and playfulness remains. Again, cool to see you doing this sort of writing == you are one talented person!

      • vbholmes says:

        I’m blushing–and returning the compliment in spades. Many thanks, Sabio.

  6. Mary says:

    I enjoyed this greatly. It is hard to be in the situation of either being overdressed or underdressed…..and awkward when one tries to be so impressive and ends up going the opposite way. Love the irony!

    • vbholmes says:

      Basic black, keep your controversial opinions to yourself and pray that they don’t have any unidentifiable flatware at your place. Thanks for commenting, Mary.

  7. claudia says:

    haha…purple dress and orange shoes…quite brave.. oh and i can imagine how out of place she must’ve felt…

  8. vbholmes says:

    This is one of those “Please, floor, open up and swallow me” moments–and I would guess we’ve all had a at least one of those.

  9. kkkkaty1 says:

    Oh, the irony of it all 😉

  10. Tony Maude says:

    Ladder? You know where they’ve hidden the ladder?

    This is one of those awful situations which we’ve all witnessed, some of us from the inside. Painful indeed. With a kilt, the choice is dress shirt and bow-tie (evening wear) or ghillie shirt and brogues (smart, nearly casual), or t-shirt (casual/ridiculous). A much easier set of choices 🙂

  11. Once, a very mean girl pulled a “Bridget Jones’ Diary” on me (remember the Tarts and Vicars party?) and told me it was formal dress. I wasn’t sure why she invited me, because we were not close at all. Later, I realized she wanted someone to make fun of.

    I snapped her! Glided around the room in my gorgeous dress, and though I did slip off the blingy necklace and let it slide down into my decolletage, I carried myself with great aplomb, explaining that I was dropping by on my way to a formal function at the Greek Embassy. “Lord, if I was dressed like you are,” I jibed my hostess, “they’d throw me out on my ear! Must run, darling.” And air-kissed her goodbye.

    Great fun, the rhyme is splendid and the choice of subject, something to which we all can relate. First time here, and I love your vibe! Amy

  12. vbholmes says:

    Bravo, Amy! Always like to see a bad deed rewarded with aplomb. Thanks for stopping by and thereby introducing me to your blog.

  13. I haven’t even located the ladder yet lol I love the rhythm of your poem awesome job!

  14. Grace says:

    I did have a schoolmate who wore such loud and bright colors, she was fearless and didn’t care for acceptance ~ For the rest of us, we were all so polite and looked away ~ I believe though good breeding and status come from within ~ Even a well dressed person, who doesn’t have manners and good etiquette, still looks ill-bred and artificial to me ~ Good post, cheers ~

Leave a Reply

