Sammy, the Gat: “I Hunt-and-Peck The Overland”.

(Sammy, the Gat, is a continuing story.)

(Glossary at end.)

I double-dutch the Feddie/Maffie Evel Knievels before I snuggle up to the Air Maroc check-in. A storm cloud of ciggie smoke circles a duck-bill-nosed dude soft-shoein’ it outta the powder room. One whiff of those carcinogens and the thrill-seeking puddle-jumpers skip-rope toward the great outdoors like wasps shadow-dancin’ an insect spray. The word Cancelled  on/offs next to my flight number and I look for the camel that rescued Bing and Bob when they were stranded on the road to Morocco. No dromedary, no air time, so I hunt-and-peck the overland from London to Casablanca: 24 hours minimum. No matter. My open-air tin lizzie awaits and I’m lookin’ at a long ride with a fast-dissolvin’ deadline.

(Click to catch up on Sammy, the Gat.)

THE GATIONARY of Sammy Speak.

Air Maroc: n. flag airline carrier of Morocco.   Bing and Bob: n. Crosby and Hope.
double-dutch: v. dodge.   Feddie/Maffie Evel Knievels: n. FBI/Mafia motorcyclists.
hunt-and-peck: v. check the internet.   on/off: v. blink.
On the Road to Morocco: n. movie starring Crosby, Hope, Dorothy Lamar.
overland: n. automobile route.

(Photo by Janet Webb. Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, Friday Fictioneers. April 19, 2013.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sammy, the Gat: “I Hunt-and-Peck The Overland”.

  1. Sounds like Sammy’s getting somewhere. I like the Bing and Bob camel but I think the tin lizzie’s a much better idea. 🙂

    janet

  2. billgncs says:

    every description is so full of images — open air tin lizzie — 🙂

  3. I think I wrote a while back about losing the stuff you sent for guest post .Please resend gravatar, brief bio with wp site, 3 stories with vocab, and I think there was a pic representing Sammy, each as jpeg. I am a fan and it is important for me to share your work with followers esp as you have supported my blog. The email I have for you is not working.Thank you . Regards.

  4. elappleby says:

    Just what I needed after a long hard day at the office, a dose of Sammy The Gat!

  5. Bing and Bob really makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

