Sammy, the Gat: “Frigate-Free So Far”

(Sammy, the Gat, is a written-for-fun continuing story).

I take the apartment house stairs two at a time and check my stern for signs of a following sea. Frigate-free so far. I tell myself I got the cannon on my side, which is good.
Three doors on the second floor. Does my prize lurk behind Number One, Two or Three? Then I see the kid’s toy danglin’ from the open-shut. A wacky elephant/giraffe/tiger/zebra combo. Red dress or no, Cat’s not here. She’s at the zoo. As I race down the stairs, I’m scattershot by the scruffy Docksiders of an old man of the sea. Friend or foe I wonder as my head hits the deck.

(Click to catch up on Sammy, the Gat.)

(Photo by EL Appleby. Friday Fictioneers, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. June 6, 2013.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sammy, the Gat: “Frigate-Free So Far”

  1. This story, while still fun, was more accessible which is, I think, a good thing. You didn’t need the Gationary to enjoy it. 🙂

    janet

  2. Dear VB,

    Fun story. Like Janet said, I can understand it without the Garionary.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Hannah says:

    Nice and funny!

  4. Sandra says:

    Entertaining, as always. 🙂

  5. elappleby says:

    I love Sammy The Gat – and now my photo gets to feature in a Sammy story, yay!
    Excellent, cool, jazzy as always.

  6. The imagery is fun and exaggerated with its own uniqueness.My newly acquired language skills have kicked in thanks to Sammy and his life on the run.

  7. 40again says:

    Ditto most of the above.
    A very entertaining story which i thoroughly enjoyed reading
    Dee

  8. neenslewy says:

    An enjoyable read.

  9. unspywriter says:

    Yay, Sammy is back and his luck hasn’t changed! Good job.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/young-at-heart/

  10. Sammy seems to be caught up in bad luck

Leave a Reply

