“Satin Petals” (A Sedoka)

The satin petals
of the high-blown hydrangea
embolden contemplation.

My fantasy worlds
save me from mundanity,
embolden contemplation.

(Written for dVerse Poets, “Form for All: The Princess’ Poem to her Secret Love.” June 20, 2013.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to “Satin Petals” (A Sedoka)

  1. brian miller says:

    ha. my fantasies def save me from reality often…glad i have an imagination to escpae too for contemplation…smiles…nice use of form man…

  2. What would a poet be without fantasy.. 🙂 and satin petals sounds wonderful

  3. cloudfactor5 says:

    We all need a little fantasy to make it through the day !! Well Done !!

  4. The repeated refrain in the third and sixth lines underscore not just the lyrical tradition of the sedoka, but also reinforce your theme, underpinning the meditative and the metaphorical.

  5. Grace says:

    Nice refrain on the 3rd and 6th line ~ I like satin petals, specially in my fantasy world ~ Lovely share ~

  6. How beautiful. The smoothness of satin and of your words does make for a contemplative moment. And beautiful Hydrangeas!

  7. Somehow I am reminded of Blake’s world in a grain of sand. Beautiful … and masterly twist to the refrain.

  8. Rowan Taw says:

    Your mind: a beautiful hydrangea! Lovely.

  9. Eric Alagan says:

    We all need some escapism in our lives – satin petals will do just fine 🙂

  10. bostonpoetry says:

    Nice usage of hydrangea- a beautiful shrub. I love their blues and violets. This was a nice write- I like the refrain and the variations of it. -Mike

  11. claudia says:

    My fantasy worlds
    save me from mundanity…ha…that surely resonates with me… and as a kid esp. my fantasy was a hiding place as well

Leave a Reply

