“Hey, Big Man.” (Terza Rima Sonnet)

“Hey, Big Man,” I yell through the car window.
“I got your number, Speed Limit Charlie.”
I laugh, throw it in gear and start off slow.

He floors it and shoots off ahead of me.
I slam that old pedal to the metal.
Catch him at the light. He’s at the ready.

The race is on, we’ve a score to settle.
The light turns green, our V8s scream and shout.
First to the red light wins in fine fettle.

Four lanes are crowded, we weave in and out.
Horns blare as we force cars to pull over.
Speed and traffic laws we blatantly flout.

Breaking 80, we think we’re in clover.
Suddenly, a dame, three kids start to cross.
I pull right, a real boulevard rover.

Too late. Bodies fly. Stupid broad. Bad joss.
Not my fault, she’s the nut case who caused it.
I cringe. My challenge will end as a loss.

People surround my car, I can’t exit.
“Murderer,” they cry. “Executioner.”
Others rush to help the family I hit.

Sympathy? I feel nothing. I blame her.
I look to the red light, he’s there I know.
He flashes the vee sign, things start to blur.

“Hey, big man,” I mouth through the car window.

(Written for dVerse, “Mix and Match”. July 18, 2013.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “Hey, Big Man.” (Terza Rima Sonnet)

  1. claudia says:

    this is a great metaphor for when we speed-race life just we want to win and lose our view for other people, stop caring about other people..it happens all too often – in politics – in business – in everyday life…. we just see the car ahead of us and the flashing lights.. it’s sad

  2. brian miller says:

    oh dang…going too fast can def be dangerous..esp when pride becomes an issue and ego gets in the way of our rational thinking…it becomes about us only…well played vb

  3. Mary says:

    A strong write. Lesson perhaps: It doesn’t pay to be foolhardy….it can cost you and others dearly. Your poem had me reading faster and faster…breathless.

    I did a Terza Rima Sonnet too. Hope you will take a look.

  4. heidi says:

    wow. you sucked me into the story of this one to the point where i thought “i hate the speaker.” nicely written.

  5. This is so chilling. I agree with Heidi–you write a great antagonist. And nice job with that difficult form.

  6. Ouch.. that was some strong story set brillianfly to form… great write.

  7. My reaction to the ending was immediate anger. Well written. The sad thing is what you describe is true. Those people are out there and they always feel they are the victim.

  8. Eric Alagan says:

    Trophies collect dust on shelves and tales of bravado fade with memory.
    All are wisps of smoke – as are lives.
    Someone up there is a sicko, me thinks – it is all their fault.

  9. bennitheblog says:

    Wow, agreed that this is a chilling point of view…

Leave a Reply

