“Inventory” (A Pantoum)

At the piano where my mother played
Remembered remnants from a long-past youth.
In the scholar’s chair where my father stayed
Ruminations on life, beauty and truth.

Remembered remnants from a long-past youth.
Material goods no longer wanted.
Ruminations on life, beauty and truth.
Cerebral musings no longer vaunted.

Material goods no longer wanted
I rethink my life, goals, accomplishment.
Cerebral musings no longer vaunted
I will never regret the time well spent.

I rethink my life, goals, accomplishment
In the scholar’s chair where my father stayed.
I will never regret the time well spent
At the piano where my mother played.

(Written for dVersepoets, “Are You Listing?” July 25, 2013.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “Inventory” (A Pantoum)

  1. brian miller says:

    i will never regret time well spent either…
    and the piano where your mother played sounds like a good place…
    full of memories…my mom played as well.

  2. Grace says:

    Those are times well spent, no regrets ~ Lovey work on the form too 🙂

  3. Mary says:

    Oh, this is so touching really. Such memories are much more valuable than any material goods could be!

  4. claudia says:

    yes…the treasure is in the moments well spent with friends and family..sounds like lovely memories

  5. Patience says:

    Hi. I nominated you for a Shine On Award. All the details are on my Shine On Award blog post.

  6. This is a touching list of memories to be treasured and the way you used the form is so effective because of the line repetition. I forget about this form which does create a very unique effect. A list to hold on to.

  7. A difficult form (imo), you’ve handled it with well, the warmth of the sentiment repeated lends to the emotion coming full circle, in a sense, completing it. Nice, Jason

  8. ds says:

    I love the fact that you made a pantoum of your “list”. It is so effective, those remembered remnants. I can see them: mother at the piano, father in his “scholar’s chair.” Thank you.

  9. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    A good inventory! And I love pantoums. 🙂

Leave a Reply

