“The Hostess With Too Much Mostest”

The Table’s set.
Fine China.
Cut Glass.
Polished Silver.
Monogrammed Linen Napkins.
The Maid stands
At Attention
awaiting
the Imperial Wave.
The guests praise
the House
the Flowers
the fancy food
(which they brought).
The ladies speak
Cautiously
in twos and threes
of family
friends
accomplishments
then Listen Intently
as the Hostess
Plays Her Games.

(Written for dVersepoets Pub: FormForAll Poetry. 55 words exact. August 22, 2013.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Poetry, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to “The Hostess With Too Much Mostest”

  1. This is one powerful hostess whose invitation I would decline.

  2. Mary says:

    It sounds like this is a hostess who can definitely demand attention as well as food. LOL.

  3. claudia says:

    ah that doesn’t sound like a game i would enjoy… ha – i rather would decline her invitation as well…strip away the fine linen and things and just make a barbecue..smiles… cool take

  4. howanxious says:

    I don’t like the hostess, yet I love her. A nice suspicious ending…

  5. aka_andrea says:

    I’m glad my invitation got lost in the mail~

  6. Gay Cannon says:

    Oh I would accept it and smile to myself as they passed the pate de fois gras…thinking, “she thinks she knows who she is; but I definitely know who I am”. Ha.

  7. Rhonda says:

    Ick! that pit of the stomach, when you know someone is trolling for info to tear you down with…a very very tricky game as you avoid their hook. Well done.

  8. How a hostess can play here powergames. with intimidation…

  9. brian miller says:

    ha. there are always games to be played at those kind of dinners for sure….get the niceties out of the way and then get out of the way….smiles….

  10. Laurie Kolp says:

    Makes me wonder what kind of games she plays… mind games.

  11. Oooh the games people play . . .

  12. Gabriella says:

    ‘The guests praise … the fancy food / (which they brought).’ Lovely!
    Great portrayal of an atmosphere!

  13. You captured the formality and the emptiness beautifully.

  14. I like the sharp and snappy pace of the story ~ I think I would rather not attend the party ~ Very well done ~

  15. I think I’ve met this woman. As Buddah said, the word emptiness came to mind…and chill.

  16. margaret says:

    …to be seen, to have “been” there is all that is important to some people – not worth wasting my time, but I’m sure we have all been guilty of trying to fit in with the “in crowd” at some point in our lives. Love the meaning behind these 55 words.

  17. All “for show” leaves little to tell except for those who thrive in gossiping. Possessions surely do not make happiness.

  18. kkkkaty1 says:

    A scintillating 55 word story…..reminds me someone I once knew..;)

  19. Such dinners can be amusing…so much drama unfolds. Nicely done! 🙂

  20. Tony Maude says:

    Mind games, power games and playing on the desire to be seen in company with the ‘right’ people. Not something I’m into at all, but so much of ‘celebrity culture’ is built on this shaky foundation.

  21. kelvin s.m. says:

    …ha, quite a gesture! — good for her… but she must learn to be more considerate enough… smiles…

  22. Seems easy mark. While they listen to that venom spewing hostess that polished silver would be entering my pockets in a clandestine fashion. Can get $14 an ounce for silver ya know.

Leave a Reply

