“The Torch-Holding Lady”

Copyright – Jan Wayne Fields

(Copyright – Jan Wayne Fields)

Sails, motors and fishing boats move aside as I slowly maneuver my Egg Harbor 50 into a spot in front of the Statue of Liberty.
I idle for a moment, then rev my two 1000HP Caterpillar C-18s and aim straight for the torch-bearing lady.
“Allahu Akbar!” I shout, as a vision of Armageddon flashes before my eyes.
I can’t do it. I turn away.
Don’t know where I’m going, but I’m piloting a million-dollar beauty with enough barrels of fuel in the hold to blow the Statue of Liberty sky high. I realize I can go anywhere in the world.
All of a sudden, life looks good.

(Friday Fictioneers, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. September 13, 2013.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to “The Torch-Holding Lady”

  1. I was in the crown in 1976

  2. I like the change of heart. Hopefully he can sell the fuel back without being too suspicious. 🙂

  3. vb, what an interesting take on terrorism. I’d like to think that there are terrorists who change their minds. This one can certainly travel for a very long time in his (or her) efforts to use up the evidence. Would that change of heart had occurred on that other 9/11!

    janet

    • vbholmes says:

      It seemed fitting to touch on terrorism on 9/11. Thankfully, the day passed uneventfully. I suspect our Jihadist will have a hide-and-seek game going on for a while, but hopefully, he’ll reach safe harbor and have enough fuel left to bankroll a start-up endeavor. I like flip-flopping terrorists and wish him well.

  4. Ye Pirate says:

    Now that’s an interesting angle…

  5. pattisj says:

    Whew! That nice boat is safe! This could be the cruise of a lifetime, but they might want to sell some fuel and stock up on food. Nice twist on the plotted action.

  6. Ah.. there is always room for a failed terrorist … reminds me of Ahmed the dead terrorist

    he was not so succesful either

  7. Dear VB,

    A unique perspective. Well done.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  8. billgncs says:

    Hi VB, this reminds me of a movie I saw some time ago called “The Terrorist”, it is an Indian film, spoken in the Tamil language with subtitles. In it, a young suicide bomber who is female discovers she is pregnant. It was lush and beautiful and powerful.

    Nicely done.

  9. tedstrutz says:

    Guess he or she has found freedom… nice twist.

    • vbholmes says:

      Pulling for him. Hopefully, his cell is poorly organized and doesn’t get a plane in the air until he’s well away from NY Harbor. Then it’s a whole new life of sun, sand, palms and leisurely sunset cruises in the Pacific. Sounds good to me.

  10. Hi V.B.,
    Highly appropriate post on this September 11, but I’m glad you gave us a happy ending. Ron

    • vbholmes says:

      Hopefully, we’ve gotten him to an island paradise, with a stress-free way to make a little money–now all he needs is a girl. Oops, who’s that lovely lady paddling the canoe up to his Egg Harbor 50.

  11. Jan Brown says:

    Unusual to have a story about terrorism with a happy ending–or at least not a disastrous ending. Well done!

  12. vbholmes says:

    Thanks, Jan. Don’t we wish all suicide bombers would come to their senses before the moment of impact.

  13. A happy ending. That makes a nice change.

  14. unspywriter says:

    The type of twist I always expect from you. I think it’s a fitting tribute to 9/11. Well done.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/the-new-colossus/

  15. Nice unexpected final twist turning from death to life.

  16. Linda Vernon says:

    I just like it. I found it very uplifting. 😀

  17. rgayer55 says:

    Was wearing sandals what give him cold feet? It makes me wonder how many times someone has changed their mind in a similar situation. We would never know.

  18. A happy ending in a story about a terrorist, that’s something new! Uplifting little story and in a way points to the power of hope in all of us.

  19. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear VB,

    A great, funny, all too true story. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  20. Haha! Now, that’s a welcomed twist!

  21. Eric Alagan says:

    Let’s hope our jihadist is not a smoker —

    Varooom!

Leave a Reply

