“An Irreverent Hymn to a Failed Heist” (A Kyrielle)

I press my face against the pane
As I repeat “Hands Up” again.
I speak, she does not understand.
The pretty girl extends her hand.

I press my body to the car.
Her exit through the door I bar.
The scheme’s not going as I planned.
The pretty girl extends her hand.

I press my finger to the gun.
She leans toward me, claims I am done.
The cop on call is her husband.
The pretty girl extends her hand.

I press my face against the pane.
The pretty girl extends her hand.

(Written for dVerse Open Link Night, Week 114. September 17, 2013.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Poetry, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to “An Irreverent Hymn to a Failed Heist” (A Kyrielle)

  1. brian miller says:

    ouch, yeah when you mess with a cops wife, you are pretty well done…just saying….
    and you probably wont be going to court…

  2. Mary says:

    Whew, what a tale you told in this Kyrielle. Really interesting to play with forms, isn’t it? You worked this form well.

  3. Ruth says:

    oh dear… i think his hands are tied, poor man – what’s he to do? 😉
    nice form, the forced repetition works well

  4. Eric Alagan says:

    Never mess with a pretty girl – or she’ll extend her hand – Splat!

  5. Ouch.. that went bad.. cool to use such a lyric form to tell a grizzly story…

  6. claudia says:

    ha – beware of a cop’s wife… not healthy to mess with them..smiles

  7. Gabriella says:

    I enjoyed reading your story through this kyrielle!

  8. Form seems to work as a counterbalance to the text – assault in repetition – felt frightening and out of kilter – well used here in a whole new way. Kudos.

  9. ManicDdaily says:

    This is so much fun. The form and story work well. Feel no obligation, but it reminded me of something I did once in villanelle form–a heist and also a pretty–um–girl. http://manicddaily.wordpress.com/2011/12/22/contrastvillanellesvillain-elle-with-watercolors-and-elephants/

Leave a Reply

