The Cane-Carrying Gent”

copyright John Nixon

(photo: copyright John Nixon)

Before I leave my room each morning, I carefully select the appropriate cane from the umbrella stand next to my door.
I collect canes, you see. I carry a staff with a hand-carved dog’s head when I go to the park. Lunch at the Ritz warrants a sleek, black ebony beauty, with a silver band bearing my initials. It’s aluminum with a fold-up seat for days at the track. And a hand-polished walking stick made from a gnarled root for O’Leary’s Pub.
Today, I choose undistinguished bamboo for a walk to the thrift shop where I’ll seek out new treasures.

(Written for Friday Fictioneers, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. September 20, 2013.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The Cane-Carrying Gent”

  1. Tom Poet says:

    I see you are a fan of canes as am I! Nice work!

  2. Adam Ickes says:

    A cane connoisseur… quite a unique take on the prompt.

  3. A cane for every occasion / nice take on the prompt

  4. Pat Hatt says:

    And if all else fails you can use it to whack people lol

  5. A lovely slice of life. I hope he has a cane with a sword inside, too, my personal favorite.

    janet

  6. Waltermarks says:

    I’d choose the one with the folding seat on a day like this. Thanks, very nice.

  7. paulmclem says:

    First person perspective works well here.

  8. Eric Alagan says:

    Carrying a cane does come in handy – projects and protects 🙂

  9. Dear VB,

    Does he carry a candy cane for very special occasions? Sorry I couldn’t resist. 😉 I enjoyed your unique take on the prompt. You gave the old gent quite a personality.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  10. JackieP says:

    Hope he finds another great cane for his collection. Nicely done!

  11. Sandra says:

    It’s good that you went down a different path here – I liked this. An original take on the prompt.

  12. ManicDdaily says:

    Very charming. I think some people like to get used to a particular walking stick, but others can see the value of an additional accessory–I’ve seen people like this, and also with umbrellas – thanks for the snippet of a person! k.

  13. zookyworld says:

    Haven’t thought about this before, and it’s a clever take on a story, to describe the appropriate cane to bring with you on different trips. I bet the sleek beauty turns heads admiringly at the Ritz.

  14. unspywriter says:

    I love how he has a cane for every locale–especially loved the one for O’Leary’s. 😉

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/reminiscing/

  15. summerstommy2 says:

    Lovely take vb I enjoyed this piece.

  16. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear VB,

    You meditation on a cane for all seasons was well written and a great take on the prompt.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  17. I don’t know much about walking sticks but certainly have raised some Cain in my life.

  18. I love clever intricate canes as well.

  19. Hi V.B.,
    I think it was very inventive to base your story around the cane, and getting the descriptions of all those canes and the situations was interesting. Also liked the use of present tense. Ron

  20. I’m sure that I will end up a cane colloector one day.. each age has his gadgets… great story, and you described him very well through his different canes

  21. rgayer55 says:

    My dad had a cane that was called El Toro. It was made from a bull’s pecker. quite a conversation piece.

  22. annisik51 says:

    Your Citizen Cane is a man of many parts, each symbolised by a different walking stick.

  23. pattisj says:

    We have our shoes and purses, he has his cane collection. I also like the first-person narrative.

Leave a Reply

