“Lost Opportunity”

(Copyright Rochelle Wisoff-Fields)

I’m sittin’ at the bar, eatin’ peanuts and listenin’ to Jackson as he tickles the eighty-eights, when this broad enters stage right.
This ain’t no ordinary babe. Face of an angel (with experience), hair like a halo of (slightly tarnished) gold, legs like (my old pinup) Betty Grable, and a set of ta-tas that ain’t got no parentheses.
Now, this is my kind’a filly and I’m like fallin’ off the stool in admiration, when this Bingo Bennie beats me to the punch.
I’m not sayin’ I’m on the skids, but my lost opportunity has me flashin’ the barkeep for another drink.

(Written for Friday Fictioneers, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. October 25, 2013.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to “Lost Opportunity”

  1. 88 s , German anti tank, anti aircraft gun WW 2

    • vbholmes says:

      Although the eighty-eights referred to here are piano keys, you have the right era for Betty Grable as I understand she (and her legs) decorated more than one airplane in WWII. Jackson and I agree, they don’t make ’em like they used to….

  2. Hi, Sammy. “Ain’t got no parentheses.” Haha.

    janet

  3. Eric Alagan says:

    Carl took the words out of my mouth – 88’s were built as ack ack guns, but gained notoriety as tank-killers

  4. Sandra says:

    Loved this. You get the vernacular right down to the last word. Parentheses… 🙂

  5. Dear VB/Sammy,

    This needed no Gattionary. Well done…gave me a morning laugh before going to work.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear VB,

    One of your best and one of the best. (And now I’m back to nestling comfortably in between what would be constrained by the parentheses.)

    Aloha,

    Doug

  7. denmother says:

    I think this broad may have been too much for this man to handle even if he’d gotten his chance!

  8. Ah Sammy’s back (and no vocabulary).. brilliant

  9. Runyonesque!
    Excellent.

  10. Bravo! Love the noir, classic feel to this. You’ve got the lingo and tone down perfectly. Really excellent!

Leave a Reply

