“Spectacular Sticks”

(Photo copyright: Sean Fallon)

When a man has a gorgeous pair of legs, he has a gee-or-geous pair of legs. And my Herbie has been well blessed.
Never mind that he has the brain and personality of Archie Bunker, the physique of a 99-pound weakling in the bodybuilding ads on the backs of old comic books, or that he has a predilection for the sauce. His pegs are out of this world.
So every morning when he arises smelling of bootlegged whiskey and day-old sweat, I have him pose in his shorts.
One look at his spectacular sticks and I fall in love all over again.

(Written for Friday Fictioneers, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. November 22, 2013.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to “Spectacular Sticks”

  1. Haha, vb. Not my ideal marriage, but evidently it works. πŸ™‚

    janet

  2. Nice. At least she can look past all his flaws…to his legs. πŸ™‚

  3. Adam Ickes says:

    That was rather odd, but not in a bad way. Just odd, haha.

  4. H. Ken Abell says:

    That was a fun bit of writing — strange relationship, but a fun read.

  5. claireful says:

    I agree with Adam – odd, in a good way.

    • vbholmes says:

      I’m glad that, while some people found this odd, it’s in a “good” way.The story evolved from the three parts of the mannequin: the head=the brain and personality; the upper torso=the 99 lb. weakling reference; the lower torso=the legs. Although the first two of Herbie’s attributes are nothing to write home about, his legs are definitely worthy of attention. Ergo, the story, which was written in fun (although some women take their appreciation of men’s legs quite seriously and may be offended by my sense of humor).

  6. Yes, well I can only agree with this point of view. I like a fine pair of legs on a man and I will overlook a lot of flaws for this one asset. However, He has to have a brain. Legs and no brain will not do. But, I am glad he has found true love in your tale.

  7. Eric Alagan says:

    If it turns you on – that’s all that matters – enjoy πŸ™‚

  8. Dear VB,

    This was a fun read…as others have said…in a strange way. Now I’m left with the image of a 99 lb weakling with great legs. Why do I see Steve Buscemi?

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  9. Linda Vernon says:

    Spectacular Sticks!! Haha! Delightful story!

  10. Your story made me laugh. What a character! Her not him.

  11. kz says:

    hilarious. even the title! πŸ™‚ what a spectacularly fun take on the photo

  12. ayala says:

    This is great fun πŸ™‚

  13. If only we could just pick and choose our parts… really fun use of this prompt.

  14. A very unusual pair, darling — this made me laugh.

  15. Sandra says:

    I suspect they will remain happy for many years to come! Great take on the prompt vb.

  16. hugmamma says:

    So…you’re a “legs” woman. Nice fettish…

  17. zookyworld says:

    At least there’s something she loves about him!

  18. rgayer55 says:

    I loved the title and the story. I was surprised at some of the comments–I didn’t know women liked men with brains? I thought they just married us from the shoulders down.

  19. Sounds like she has set her priorities like a normal man πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

