Island Flight

 

ferry

(San Juan Islands Ferry photo by Ted Strutz)

As usual, I’m first on board the ferry to the mainland.
I grab a table, throw my coat and book bag on one seat, sit on the opposite bench, my backpack next to me. I spread my books around, open my borrowed computer and get to work.
A few people pause as they pass, but no one asks to join me.
Every Thursday, I have two hours in the morning and two during the return trip when I can study.
With six kids at home, and a waterman husband who’s at sea for days, community college is my salvation.
And eventually, my way out.

(Written for Friday Fictioneers, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. November 29, 2013.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Island Flight

  1. Her poor husband, but ouch! all those kids. Well, they will grow up and mom will have some sort of career. Good for her.

  2. What a cruel twist to the story.. I love it though, and it’s very realistic.

  3. dmmacilroy says:

    This is reality well portrayed. Your story leaves much open to the imagination and is open ended for your characters. Reminds me of Alexander Dumas’ famous line, ‘Wait and Hope.” goo djob.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  4. Sandra says:

    A story with lots of backstory. And hopefully a more optimistic future. Really well done vb.

  5. Dear VB,

    So many layers to this story. I empathize with this wife and mother who desires autonomy. The way out isn’t always in the literal sense so this left me wondering. Well crafted. Good job.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. Great piece of writing.
    So many possibilities, AnElephant is enthralled.

  7. tedstrutz says:

    Something to live for.

  8. unspywriter says:

    Well done! Yes, those husband- and kid-free hours are to be treasured, and it’s absolutely all right to find a way to escape. Nice read.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/puzzle-pieces/

  9. Oh, so she plans to leave the marriage after all. Was not expecting that last line. Great job!

  10. Wow…as a real life mother to 10, this hits my gut…

  11. K.D. McCrite says:

    This piques my curiosity. I’d like to know more about these people. Good job!

  12. I can see why she would relish those alone times of study. 6 kids and all by herself…she has the energy of a goddess, I think.

  13. rgayer55 says:

    I work with a couple of women in their thirties who went back to college while working full time and raising a family. I have the utmost respect for those people.

  14. atrm61 says:

    Six kids and with a seaman husband-wow-how did they manage that?lol!No wonder she needs a break!Good she has decided to continue with her education & is planning for a better future:-)Great story!

  15. Reminds how I planned my study in college 3:30 AM to 7 AM when the dorms were finally quite.

Leave a Reply

