“Bitcoin Biz”

Click for Sammy the Gat blog.

Photo Copyright – David Stewart

(Photo copyright : David Stewart)

I’m an ordinary hands-on, bricks-and-mortar, hit-man-for-hire, part-time-undercover-Fed kinda guy, so when Belinda Beauvais hands me this Bitcoin gig, I balk. No way out, she says, and this low-brow is stuck with a high-brow scheme to sell smack online for computer-generated cabbage. Now I got no smarts about tech, or nonexistent moolah, so I gotta find me a techno wizard to translate geek talk into mob moxie. Johnny the Brain comes to mind, and after he finishes briefin’ me on the ins and outs of cartoon cash and hidden deep-web info, the bell rings, and like it or no, I’m on the clock.

(Written for Friday Fictioneers, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. February 21, 2014.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to “Bitcoin Biz”

  1. Sammy meets technology? 🙂 Too much of technology is a “bit” above me, too.

    janet

    • vbholmes says:

      Very clever, Janet! And a ditto on the too much technology, although I do enjoy some of the benefits. At times, however, it can be a terrible time-waster.

      • Right now I’m hooked on the Olympics so I’m trying to find anything to do in the living room. Today I started with hockey and now I’m on to women’s and men’s cross country sprint relays. 🙂 More to come tonight.

        janet

  2. I love the voice in this Bada bing!

  3. atrm61 says:

    I surely understand the poor man’s predicament!After reading this I feel like clicking my heels and shouting like Fred Flintstone,”yabba dabba doo” 🙂

  4. vbholmes says:

    Sammy says “Thanks for the suggestion–in the future, I’ll work Fred’s phrase into my vocabulary.”

  5. Yay,, return of Sammy.. he’s been missed… and now with techno – lingo added I understand him much better (and I love the word moolah)

  6. K.Z. says:

    Sammy’s voice is seriously entertaining. enjoyed this a lot 🙂

  7. VB, you’ve got my attention if I’m understanding this challenge had to contain all that it states, yet stay within 100 words. Love the “translate geek talk into mob moxie”. And yes – agree that tech is the serious (or newest?) time-waster for us all!

  8. dreaminofobx says:

    I first heard about Bitcoin a couple months ago when I was in the midst of a “The Good Wife” marathon to catch up on everything I’d missed living overseas. I thought it was a fictional currency. Now I can’t swing a cat without hitting a reference to Bitcoin! Great job pulling the latest trend into your story.

  9. DCTdesigns says:

    Well let me say I have no idea about bit coins so Sammy is in good company thought that might make me his patsy. I love the mafiasos in this cross bred with geek. Very good character voice.

  10. Dear VB,

    Ah Sammy, ain’t seen ya in the longest time. Do they make a Mob-tech for Dummies book? Great voice. Nice read.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  11. Well, I’m not sure I undertstood all of that but the writng was great. Very interesting literary character. I haven’t been participating in Friday Fictioneers long so this is my first experience with Sammy.

  12. Oh you have to bring back Belinda Beauvais! She’s the really intriguing one in this really entertaining story!

  13. vbholmes says:

    Bellinda is one bodacious broad with brains who’s got Sammy where she wants him–business-wise as well as personally. She thanks you for the shout-out.

  14. What a clever voice — well handled, darling.

  15. Loved it. Great language delivered in a super quick off the cuff manner.

  16. vbholmes says:

    I like playing with words and Sammy lets me do it. Thanks for the comment.

  17. Sounds like imagination ends when the bell rings, Fun voice,

  18. storydivamg says:

    Best wishes to Sammy in his work with that slippery currency. Word came over the wire last week that it’s on it’s way down and the boys in blue are attempting to put a kibosh on the trading of that virtual cabbage.

    I enjoyed the tale and the voice here.

    Cheers!

    Marie Gail

  19. technology confuses me too. 🙂

  20. Subroto Pant says:

    Sam Spade is back! And with a blog no less. Loved this.

  21. hugmamma says:

    Wow! That was a tongue-twisting-brain-teaser if I’ve ever seen one. Good job! I didn’t even pause to take a breath…

  22. Great voice here. I wonder if the argot is genuine or is it your creation.

  23. vbholmes says:

    Some of both–but I’ve found that almost every combination of words has been used by someone else in the past. Hard to be original.

  24. rgayer55 says:

    I love this character.

  25. camgal says:

    Wow what a guy! loved the character and story haha

  26. Nan Falkner says:

    I had heard of “barter” but didn’t know about bit-coin until last month. I understand the concept, but Midas can’t sit and count. Thanks for the great story and it’s nice to meet Sammy! Nan

Leave a Reply

