“Spring-swing”

The green-scene
is top-coated
with split-seam sprays
topple-down trees
tempest-tossed twigs.

I slow-dance
my mod-bod
to the one-two-
buckle-my-shoe
rhythm
of the wind-whistler
as I twinkle-toe my way
across the lawn-litter
with my clean-up crew
of cool-tools
and Spring-swing
the day away.

(Written for dVerse Poets, March 20, 2014, where Bjorn has us playing with compound words.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Poetry, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to “Spring-swing”

  1. Ah. spring is hear.. great use here.. word creation is a lot of fun.. and twinkle-toe sounds great…

  2. Brian Miller says:

    haha…i will be out in the yard doing a bit of that work myself…probably this weekend…hoping i have a mod-bod to sashay across the yard…lol….love the allit as well in that opening bit…its fun on the tongue…

  3. claudia says:

    oh – garden work can be fun… combined with a little playful dancing… and just love the twinkle-toe ….

  4. Mary says:

    Ha, indeed there is so much that needs to be cleaned up in spring. I like the way you worked in the kennings. Spring-swinging sounds good to me right now.

  5. Oh good, a spring-inspired poem – how cheerful 🙂

  6. Grace says:

    I like spring swing the day away and rhythm of buckle-my-shoe ~ Very nice cadence ~

  7. Glenn Buttkus says:

    You really are getting us all keyed-up to twinkle-toe dip-dance ourselves into going green; delicious fun, good solid use of kennings.

  8. Gabriella says:

    I enjoyed your spring dance in the garden, vb, especially the “clean-up crew /of cool-tools”. I am sure they work wonders.

  9. lynndiane says:

    This lilting ditty makes picking-up-sticks sound like FUN!

  10. billgncs says:

    VB – this was the perfect prompt for you and you didn’t disappoint –

  11. Ahh.. Lawn poetry you are.. an action figure..
    of poet shearing..and picking up sticks..
    A manifestation..still of craft of art…to share…

  12. kkkkaty1 says:

    Terrific metaphors used here and I like that spring is here, even if it is a bit chilly here

  13. Imelda says:

    That was lovely! 🙂

  14. shanyns says:

    Very cool! Love how you did this.

  15. Barry Dawson says:

    If I could only compare yard work to dance, maybe I’d get more of it done! Wind-whistler seems to just dance off the tongue. I really enjoyed reading this.

Leave a Reply

