“Enough with the Precipitation”

I stop at the red light at tenth and Vine.
Cars bunch together and pass in a line.
Torrents of rain obscure my view
Form swirling pools I can’t get through.
I’m stuck at the red light at tenth and Vine.

Folks gather behind me some people cross.
My eyes fill with tears I think of my loss.
If I brave the puddles I’ll lose
My treasured pair of Jimmy Choos.
Folks gather behind me but I don’t cross.

There goes my chance for the job interview.
My opportunity to start anew.
However, I know if I dare
To cross that’s the end of my pair
Of Choo’s shoes bought for the job interview.

(Written for dVerse Poets, Open Link Night, March 29, 2014.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Poetry, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to “Enough with the Precipitation”

  1. Brian Miller says:

    ha. fun piece…sometimes we have to make sacrifices in order to get what we want…or need…a fresh pair bought for the interview…which is more important? the job or the shoes…nice cadence to this…

  2. claudia says:

    oh heck…. i would’ve taken them off and had crossed the road barefoot… cause i would’ve wanted both – the new chance and save the shoes as well…smiles.. happy sunday!

  3. Laurie Kolp says:

    quite a dilemma here… not sure what I would have done

  4. 10th and Vine – Hollywood?? in JImmy Choos? Wow what to do – think New York – you know they’d break those Manolos, Leboutains and J. Choos on sticky pavement – they wear their sneaks and put the heels in a back pack and slip them on at the door…Californians drenched in sun haven’t begun to think that way – in Dallas we all wear knock offs and ruin them anyway. Great piece!

  5. Ha. yes this was some dilemma… maybe there’s a way around.. and a job-interview in failed shoes might be a failed interview too.

  6. Truedessa says:

    Well, that was quite the situation..I think I would have just gone with wet shoes and hoped for
    the best..tough decision..

  7. It’s all about perspective and what’s important. 🙂

    janet

  8. It’s like being stuck between a rock and a hard place huh? This made me smile…thank you. 🙂

  9. kkkkaty says:

    I can feel just as she (you) do…the thought of not meeting expectations (our own) and tears welling up…that lump in the throat that your chances are dashed…fun poem

  10. Mary says:

    I am with Claudia here. Taking the shoes off and crossing the street sounds like the best solution as well. Saving both the chance for the job & not ruining those new shoes bought for the interview. She thought outside of the box. Probably we all need to learn to do that. Smiles.

Leave a Reply

