“The Red Rose of Rage”

The kettle-drum thrum of my heartbeat
Sends a plea for assault not retreat
My fingers splay then contract
My soul cries out to react
My brain cautions this might mean defeat.

The red rose of rage colors my skin
My lips tighten from full into thin
My pop eyes narrow to slits
My placid stomach has fits
I breathe deep, try to gin up a grin.

This time, no grin, no bowing my head
This time, the fireworks flash instead
Caution succumbs to folly
I blast off with my volley
And depart with my ego well fed.

(Written for dVerse Poets, Meeting the Bar, Emotion in Poetry. April 3, 2014.)

 

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Poetry, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to “The Red Rose of Rage”

  1. billgncs says:

    The send button has caused many a fall – nice VB

  2. claudia says:

    ah – sometimes it’s ok i think when that firework of rage goes off… still in a somewhat controlled way… it takes long for me until i really get into a rage… i rather get very quiet and try to talk about things when the waves have calmed down…

  3. brian miller says:

    ha. we do feed the ego often when we get aggitated and pop off…and that feel of releif is only temporary as well…..if i get there…i have been well worked up to it…ha

  4. Mary says:

    Sometimes rage really does build up. I can read that within your poem.

  5. The way the firework can go is sometimes great.. to sad it’s often for the wrong reason though.. but like a pressurecooker the steam has to be released.

  6. Grace says:

    Love the sounds (kettle-drum thrum of my heartbeat) and details from fingers to fireworks flashing, making a volley ~ Such creative title too ~ Really well done ~

  7. Laurie Kolp says:

    Great emotion so vividly described. I especially like the second stanza.

  8. Love the well-fed ego! Some great internal rhyme and alliteration!

  9. Imelda says:

    Your beat is all rage-y. 🙂 Nice write.

  10. Truedessa says:

    Nice title..but, rage is something that needs to be under control as one may say something they will regret..once spoken it is hard to take words back..I liked the rhyme scheme and kettle drum part.

  11. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Been working on anger management for a lifetime, but retired for 4 years almost now, I find that I do not harbor the work stresses that used to boil over at home; not proud of the raging, for it is frightening to the innocent & guilty alike; nice use of the prompt.

  12. vbholmes says:

    Thanks, Glenn–sometimes it’s hard to leave workplace stress behind in the office. Glad that your life has quieted down and is now, I’m sure, easier and more enjoyable.

  13. Eric Alagan says:

    Many a times, I walked away from insults or more – but some times, some times, as the man said – I don’t have gum to chew, so I kick ar%#!

Leave a Reply

