“I Am Aquarius”

I was born to live by the sea
not on smooth sands
of condominiums and mansions
but on the rough bluffs
of fishermen’s cottages
and clamdiggers’ shacks.

My home is high on a cliff
where the scent of inland pine
weighs heavy
on the never-ending
salt-laden wind
and the panes of glass rattle
and the side boards creak
as the torrent forces its way inside
to ruffle papers being written
and pages of books being read
and the rain assaults with slanted fury
and the sun fries
your face and shoulders
when you step outside.

My home has sand on the floor
mold on the walls
and the air carries
the must and dust
of my seagoing ancestors.

When I return I will be at peace.

(Written for dVerse Poets,  Poetics: Homecoming. August 12, 2014.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Poetry, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to “I Am Aquarius”

  1. brian miller says:

    excellent…you give your home a lot of character…in all the noise it makes…and the textures….
    even the location, not the ocean we always visit but the hard shores…the cliffs
    battered by the endless tides….where salt & the pines come together…

  2. a fisherman’s cottage sounds better than a mansion to me… love how detailed you are about the characteristics of your home… adventurous write!

  3. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Heading to the ocean next week with wife, middle daughter & 3 grand kids; used to think I was a mountain man, but ice & snow are not the sweet companions that gulls, sea breezes, & driftwood can be; actually the sea is Home to all of us, before Genesis; & we carry it within.

  4. a fisherman’s cottage sounds better than a mansion to me… love how detailed you are about the characteristics of your home… adventurous write

  5. Me, too. Exactly. This poem makes me homesick! So well done.

  6. Wonderful mood, by the sea, at the edge of adventure

  7. I love my fisherman’s cottage.. it was in my mind writing my poem too.. I really loved yours.. the smell must be magnificent…

  8. Wonderful and such a breathtaking poem.

    Awesome writing my friend. 🙂

  9. I love the imagery. It makes your home come alive.

  10. Grace says:

    I would love to go to that home too ~ I specially like how you described it here:

    My home is high on a cliff
    where the scent of inland pine
    weighs heavy
    on the never-ending
    salt-laden wind

  11. The emphasis is on homecoming and the peace it will bring him upon returning. The connection to the sea and a simpler dwelling is powerfully described,VB. The poetic voice is well educated with his books and papers and perhaps in this ancestral setting he will gain inspiration to write. After all, he is Aquarius, intelligent, creative and poetic. You always make me think!

  12. Abhra says:

    My home has sand on the floor
    mold on the walls
    and the air carries
    the must and dust
    of my seagoing ancestors.

    So true. Wonderfully written.

  13. Polly says:

    My daughter is an Aquarian…she’ll identify with this, I do 😉

  14. Lasha says:

    the sea side place is always a love the sound and the smell which makes our life cool and easy out our minds…………..

Leave a Reply

