“Lying in Wait”

image001

(Photo: “Between”, copyright by Brooke Shaden)

I lie on my bed waiting.
Waiting for the evil
Which haunts the space
In my desecrated home
To strike.

It sits at my kitchen table.
It eats the food from my cupboard.
It drinks the forbidden wine from my cellar.
It sharpens its sword on my whetstone.
It laughs at my agony.

It has slashed my body
Violated my sanctum
Shattered my mind
Taken my present
Determined my future.

My evil is a young boy
Barely sixteen.
A hairless sycophant
Who follows not his god
But the disembodied voice
Of a rabble-rousing
Power-hungry
Desert rat
Whose current purpose
Is to release hate tapes
Admonishing dreamy-eyed naïfs
To maim and kill
The “infidels”
The same people who have
Opened their arms
And accepted him
The immigrant intruder
Into their homes
Their schools
Their hospitals
Their welfare system.

He comes to me brandishing
His cheap war-surplus sword
And pricks the skin
Of my neck
With the point.

“On your knees,” he cries
The tremor in his voice
Caused by the bobbing
Of his Adam’s apple.
I do not move.

He pulls me from the bed
His hands slipping
On the blood
From the wounds
He has inflicted.
He pulls out his iPhone
Kneels next to my body
And snaps a selfie.
“Next shot,” he says
“I’ll be holding your head.”

The sword cuts the air
The boy becomes a man.

As he poses
For the camera
He plans his next act
Of false heroism
In the name of his god
And the malevolent
Puppet master
Who is pulling his strings.

(Written for dVerse Poetics. September 23, 2014.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Poetry, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to “Lying in Wait”

  1. A devastating image of the falseness of what being a man can be.. really shocking with a word we see.. there are so many victims, and so few perpetrators. yet fear is the real weapon..

  2. claudia says:

    oh heck.. that is a sharp write… it is tough… and it’s the hate they have that scares me most

  3. Glenn Buttkus says:

    So topical, it makes the humanity on the nape of my soul bristle, shiver, & clench. The home grown discontent that turns some of our youth into duped followers of hate, of bloody deeds,
    is sadness beyond measure. We are faced with a conundrum without reprieve; definitely “in between”, we find ourselves questioning our very natures, as we gird our loins & arm our neighbors.

  4. Mary says:

    Really a strong poem…these words especially stood out for me:

    “……Whose current purpose
    Is to release hate tapes
    Admonishing dreamy-eyed naïfs
    To maim and kill
    The “infidels”
    The same people who have
    Opened their arms
    And accepted him
    The immigrant intruder
    Into their homes
    Their schools
    Their hospitals
    Their welfare system.”

    Sorry about the long quote, but unfortunately there are these examples of people being willing to ‘bite the hand that fed them,’ meanwhile taking the good that has been given and returning evil. Makes one question, I think.

  5. ayala says:

    So many have committed unthinkable crimes in the name of religion….Isis have shown the world that truly…they bite the hand that feeds them……so much to say…

  6. Grace says:

    Perfect response as I am reading the atrocities and war of these false heroism in the name of his God ~ You have created the face of evil and tied it up with the current situation facing us all ~ Thanks for this powerful post, I love it ~

  7. lynndiane says:

    Chilling write but not as chilling as the actual violence perpetrated by the puppet masters of this world…your poem brings truth and clarity to the predicament of being caught “between”.

  8. vandana says:

    Very powerful write and I like the horror element incorporated in it.

    • vbholmes says:

      I tried to post twice on your site and for some reason, was not successful. Enjoyed your poem and the contrast between the interspersed positive thoughts and the fatalistic ending.

  9. margaret says:

    War in the name of God. Does that even make sense? Your poem, as we know, is all too real… send chills through me. Yes, the quote Mary selected is powerful.

  10. Polly says:

    A challenging read, real and dreadful. I am in awe.

  11. brian miller says:

    really rather heartbreaking….the taking of the selfie…the darkness has been a little overwhelming of late….its been a crazy start to the school year….yesterday someone attacked the cop on campus….how crazy is that? so it is not limited to jihad or….

  12. In the name of his god
    And the malevolent
    Puppet master
    Who is pulling his strings… it is always to some noble purpose but underneath it is only someone’s greed for power that uses the weak-minded.

  13. billgncs says:

    Yep, you don’t see any of the top guys strapping on the bombs, send the young fools out while they collect the cash from the ransoms and oil wells. The economics of terror bring sorrow to the world.

  14. rmp says:

    wow…an intense and scary write…I can feel its truth…

  15. The sword cuts the air
    The boy becomes a man.

    Is the unsuccessful fight of evil the way this is achieved? So man is incapable unless connected with Him as the theology claims.

Leave a Reply

