“The Master Craftsman and the Altar of Peace”

The wood speaks in esoteric tongue
Naked knots, swooshing swirls from seed sprung.
He lays his hand upon the altar grand
Offers prayers of peace for prescient young.

(Gwawdodyn posted on dVerse Open Link Night, March 12, 2015.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Poetry, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to “The Master Craftsman and the Altar of Peace”

  1. billgncs says:

    Hi VB – this poem reminds me of the troubles swirling about the young people in this time. I really felt it could be the start of a longer poem as well.

    • vbholmes says:

      Hi Bill,
      Congratulations on your first stint as host–I always liked Open Link Night. I actually wrote this awhile ago but never liked the last line–still not all that happy with this one, and your suggestion is a good one, it would benefit from further development. Thanks.

      • billgncs says:

        Yes, it looks like the start of something big, you could take it many directions, but I almost felt Ferguson in the words and the hope for the youth.

  2. Grace says:

    This reads beautifully like touching that knotted wood ~
    The four lines are sharp and begs a longer story 🙂

  3. kanzensakura says:

    I totally agree. While the lines stand well alone, I too would like more from this. I think it would make an amazing longer poem.

  4. Ah.. the soul of craftsmen live on in works of legs
    and tables.. and altars.. true.. yes.. poetry is in legs
    and tables.. and even periodic ways formed of
    elementary chemistry and physics in science
    of poetry way…:)

  5. Short, to the point, and lovely.

  6. This speaks of spring and rebirth for me. There connection to nature is with the knotted wood I’m expecting that burst of greenery (the young) to come.

  7. rosross says:

    Beautifully done. I can see and feel that wood.

  8. Mary says:

    I see it as complete really and like it as you’ve written it. Craftsman works on an altar, and as he works he prays (with words & his skill) for peace for the generations that follow. But then again, if you develop it further it could work as well…..

  9. Tony Maude says:

    The skill of the craftsman is to discover what the materials are telling her/him and then to work with that to create the finished article. What do you think these lines are trying to tell you? Are they complete as is, or do they want to become the beginning of someting longer?

    • vbholmes says:

      Actually, Mary (above) described my inspiration, but I can see that my words would, perhaps, tell a more complete story if I added additional lines. I’ve never been happy with my last line–one day, will work on this and see what happens. Thanks for visiting, Tony.

  10. C.C. says:

    “Naked knots, swooshing swirls”—utterly delicious 🙂

  11. vbholmes says:

    Thanks, C.C..–I’m a wood person and those words describe a piece that I have hanging on the wall.

  12. hypercryptical says:

    Beautiful, esoteric. Let his prayers be answered.
    Anna :o]

  13. I think it stands alone the way it is, except the choice of “prescient” threw me. I think of the young as hopeful and idealistic, but not particularly visionaries or prophetic. What do you think? You weren’t happy with the last two lines.

  14. How nice to end the day with some poetry. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

