“My Name is Bob”

(I’m not very good at writing about myself, so I thought I’d tell the story of Bob and why Bob is Bob.)

I am from
the
middle.

I’ve always been
in the
middle.

Like my name
Bob.
B on each end
with an Oh
in the middle.

Like my
life.
Words of praise
“Oh, Bob
this is beautiful!”
squeezed in
(like creme
between chocolate
in an Oreo cookie)
betwixt words
of rebuke
“Oh, Bob,
what a terrible
thing to do!”
and disappointment
“Oh, Bob
how could you
have missed
that shot/answer/turn?”

I’m the middle child.
A brother, older
brilliant.
A sister, younger
faultless.

I was in the middle
of my class.
Never first choice
for a team
but never last.

In class pictures
I was always
in the middle
of the middle row.

I am consistent.
Middle-of-the-road
university.
Middle-management
job.
Middle-aged.

In my home
today
I am still
in the middle
of everything.
Only now
I am the star.
Top basketball scorer.
Homework expert.
Handyman du jour.
Lover of woman and child.

In the long run
life is good
when you are
the Middle Man.
Especially when
your name is
Bob
(two B’s
with an Oh
in the middle).

(Written for dVerse Poetics, “Where Are You From”. April 28, 2015.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Poetry, Short Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to “My Name is Bob”

  1. Love it.. the middle turns to be a winner in the end.. the use of Bob as a nom de plume works so well.. and the end just made me smile.. 🙂

  2. I love this. The only thing that’s missing is that you’re from Ohio. 😉 (Just kidding, my dad was Bob from Ohio, though he wasn’t the middle child). I love that in the end being in the middle is a good thing. Peace, Linda

  3. I love how Bob finally arrives on top in a wonderful life of his creation. Made me happy to read this.

  4. I like how you played on the “Oh”. It’s not just a letter but a “condition”, good or bad. Upbeat ending. I like this…Bob.

    • vbholmes says:

      You’re right, Lynne–Bob’s “Oh” represents more than just the middle letter in his name. As an aside, I like to say “Bob” out loud–at times, it has an emphatic quality to it when said as a word not a name, while, in other instances, it is light-hearted–all depends on your mood.

  5. Mary says:

    This made me smile. Not bad to be ‘middle of the road’ in life. The name ‘Bob’ definitely was a fit for him.

  6. Glenn Buttkus says:

    WHAT ABOUT BOB? was a hilarious early Bill Murray movie; as a collie, Bob, was one of Lassie’s sons; my son-in-law’s Dad is named Bob–Dad/Bob, both in the middle, though I never have learned to like him much; Bob White is a cute bird & a nasty person; loved your Bob, who came out smiling, as I did reading this.

  7. Janni Styles says:

    Love your story of where you are from 🙂

  8. C.C. says:

    Very cleverly conceived and executed 🙂

  9. kanzensakura says:

    From the middle to being the star. This made me smile hugely and cheer at the end.

  10. tamekamullins says:

    Middle children everywhere should read this. It’s empowering and inspiring! Good job Bob! 😉

  11. Oh, Bob! Of all these, love is the greatest! The middle is a pretty good place sometimes…

  12. oh… hahah. not bad for the middle child! My mom is the middle and she ain’t too lucky :/

  13. This reminds me quite a bit.. of ‘Malcom in the Middle’.. with M instead of B.. and oh my goodness.. not too long ago.. i am raised more by TV.. than reality.. first born or not..:)

  14. Wow, Bob, I think you sound happy with how things worked out! A bit self-deprecating, and yet, you are so upbeat about it all! I love happy endings! Amy

  15. Sumana Roy says:

    “but never last.” is one key to happiness :)…..that’s really a feel good poem…that’s why it’s said all’s well that ends well….

  16. MarinaSofia says:

    Do you know, whenever I give examples of dialogues in my training sessions, I always use the name ‘Bob’ for some reason? Maybe you’ve just answered why…
    Fun, dry humour – with a nice twist toward the end!

  17. zongrik says:

    you are the star and a palindrome all in one.

    My Brain is a Cheap Gadget That Spins

  18. Bob prevails!! A unique write with a glorious ending. I enjoyed this. 🙂

  19. Kathy Reed says:

    Cool take on the prompt…I know for some it is a real dilemma to be the middle child…then there’s the first!

  20. claudia says:

    ha – it certainly is not bad being in the middle… though i know it can be painful… and having a name that can be read from left to right or right to left – not bad at all

  21. wolfsrosebud says:

    great portrayal of a middle child… I was a first born… I’m sure we’d conflict

Leave a Reply

