“I Am The Vessel That Stands Watch”

I am the vessel that stands watch
as confiscated olives pour
from carefully concealed clay casks
and spread across the airport floor.

I am the vessel that stands watch
while green flesh blends with dull red hearts
and random bits of wild fruit scoot
and cockamamie circling starts.

I am the vessel that stands watch
as olive owner waves her hands
then protests as the agent probes
and on small gemstone his hand lands.

I am the vessel that stands watch
as stone is plucked from olive jam
wrinkles crinkle the lady’s face
the lioness becomes the lamb.

I am the vessel that stands watch
I grin as entry is denied
passport and stone are stuffed away
their fate unknown, her hands are tied.

I am the vessel that stands watch
as paisley shawl of olive green
with arrows etched pimento red
folds round her as she leaves the scene.

I am the vessel that stands watch
and moves into her spot in line.
He never looks, just sends me through
my passport, fake; agent, benign.

I am the vessel that stands watch
I smile, knowing my contraband
is larger than an olive jar
or papers held by alien hand.

My head’s the vessel that stands watch
o’er diagrams, materials
time and place of detonation
safe source for gas, bacterials.

My head’s the vessel that stands watch
As numbers grow and passion mounts
I tout the ideology
my perseverance is what counts.

I am the vessel that stands watch
as other olive jars arrive
no stones this time, but flammables
to spark the change for which I strive.

I am the devil that stands watch
while rent flesh blends with dull red hearts
and random bits of wild fruit scoot
I dance as Armageddon starts.

(Written for dVerse Poets Pub, Open Link #160. November 12, 2015.)

This entry was posted in Poetry, Short Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to “I Am The Vessel That Stands Watch”

  1. My favorite lines:;

    I am the vessel that stands watch
    as other olive jars arrive
    no stones this time, but flammables
    to spark the change for which I strive.

    I am the devil that stands watch
    while rent flesh blends with dull red hearts
    and random bits of wild fruit scoot
    I dance as Armageddon starts.

    Gosh! where did you come from? This is genius writing.

    I love it my friend you blew me right away. 🙂

  2. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Quite a powerful write 🙂

  3. Yikes! This is a chilling, daring poem. I can see it happening as more and more frequently tsa seems to fail to do its job. The repetition of the first line is very effective in increasing the drama.

  4. Bodhirose says:

    I’m with Victoria, yikes! But the powers that be, the ones supposedly protecting us from these scenarios, are doing a poor job from what I hear. What to do?? Yes, that repeating line really hammers home the story here as it unfolds into more and more darkness.

  5. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Racing, jet-propelled into darkness, only to emerge in the Middle Ages surrounded by young boy harems, berkas, & Infidel heads on rusty spikes. A unique form catapulting a chilling & dystopian daymare; nice work.

  6. Very distinctive and I love the idea of being a vessel

  7. Grace says:

    I love the refrain first line and the dramatic revelation of the devil that sows seeds of destruction ~
    You gave us a harsh reality of lies and darkness but is this the change that will flame the world ~ I don’t abhor violence in any kind, and believe that it only begets more violence ~

    Really amazing write, thank you ~

  8. Wow! I started off feeling one way and ended at a totally new place! Love the arch of this piece!

  9. thotpurge says:

    Chilling but true that the cycle of hate and violence will only bring us to Armageddon unless we find a way to live peacefully with one another. Hope we discover our humanity soon.

  10. The point of view I read as a zealous terrorist.. The repetion and progression throughout the poem, the reference to security checks and the inner voice speaks of disasters to come, of ticking bombs of hate… Very effective and begs to read aloud…

  11. kanzensakura says:

    The repeating line – most effective and then the last. Chilling and scary, dystopian but yet, reality in parts of this hard world…. amazing write.

  12. Abhra says:

    I like the storytelling here – usually so difficult to handle in poetry – you have done it so well and those repeating lines strengthening the narration.

  13. Sadly.. there are many
    empty vessels of human
    beings just waiting
    to get the human
    race back..
    misanthropy
    comes in bits
    of thrown away
    apple core of
    evil in
    heArtless eYes..
    somenows illustrating
    dark shadows in death
    as religious groups and
    othernows framing as
    the entire human race..
    when
    vacant
    stares
    become
    evil now black
    snares of death..
    even when living..
    Love is the answer
    but an answer long
    ago never painting
    vehicles and
    vessels of
    human
    fear
    and hate
    in terrorist wake…

Leave a Reply

