The Ideal Candidate (An Ovillejo)

I came because you have a need
I came to lead.
I came because you need a hand
Oh Motherland.
I came because you are laid bare
in your despair.
I came because I truly care.
I came to blow away the hate.
I came to guide you to your fate.
I came to lead, Oh Motherland, in your despair.

(Written for dVerse Poets, “Unraveling the Ovillejo”. January 14, 2016.)

This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to The Ideal Candidate (An Ovillejo)

  1. Dave Higgins says:

    Good use of a tricky form

  2. Good job with the form. Where is this ideal candidate? I’ve not seen or heard him/her yet.

  3. Any candidate will say this, yet none would follow it… .which follows afterwards with a .. but…

  4. Sabio Lantz says:

    First I thought of Donald Trump, then Bernie. But then with the new publication of Mein Kampf coming out in Deutschland, I thought your fine poem was alluding to that irony. Or all of them.
    Nicely done

  5. Mary says:

    I am waiting for this candidate to step forward.

    • vbholmes says:

      As are so many of us! I don’t hold much hope for a new candidate to be introduced at either convention–but you never know, there are rumors floating around.

  6. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Brilliant work on the form 🙂

  7. whimsygizmo says:

    Wow!
    VB, repetition works SO well here, and is a nice addition to the form’s flow. I LOVE this.
    Oh, that such a person would come forward, here in America. And I can also see Sabio’s point…this could be a tyrant talking. So well done, and could mean so many things.

  8. vbholmes says:

    Thanks, de jackson–this was a fun (and challenging) exercise. I intended this to be read either as an answer to our dreams or with sarcasm for the words we hear on the stump. It’s up to the reader to decide, although I must say, I’d love to see someone with experience emerge with a real passion for America and her people, as oppossed to those with political ambitions and individual quests for power.

  9. Grace says:

    That’s an ideal candidate, we can only hope ~ Terrific work on the form ~

  10. I believe your candidate would make a fine snake oil salesman. Very nice use of this fun form. Peace, Linda

  11. lynn__ says:

    I took it as sarcasm…and the repetition of the Motherland was a bit ominous. We need candidates with real wisdom, not self-interest!

  12. Waltermarks says:

    That’s good, I wish we had someone sane to lead us here.

  13. Bodhirose says:

    I feel narcissism in this candidate’s declaration…no, thank you! The repetition is so effective in this, echoing a politician’s blathering that I rush to tune out.

  14. Sumana Roy says:

    ah…let this be the whisper or prayer of the ideal leader….

  15. Truedessa says:

    Will we ever see that candidate? Politicians are full of BS, I am worried about the fate of the world to come.

  16. SMiLes.. people
    who truly
    care..
    walk
    and talk
    with honor..
    and no longer
    iS politics a place
    to even have a chance
    to win in the U.S. when
    honor and integrity iS
    pArt of that dream..
    at least not on the
    Conservative side..
    it’s been a long ride
    of
    deceit..
    and power
    plays.. but
    in general
    people who are
    truly lovers do not
    now usuAlly make
    the grade of rule makers
    enforcers and leaders as
    today that is a callous job..
    to win…
    and truLY
    no prize
    iN
    effect’s
    Affect..
    no longer
    iT seems.
    as heARt…

  17. vbholmes says:

    Regardless of party, the game of politics is not for selfless humanitarians or sissies.

  18. Certainly a lot of despair in US these days. Politicians act like trying to make way on $9 an hour or that being unemployed is a sort of mere inconvenience.

Leave a Reply

