Great Men Think Alike

The paint on the metal railing is peeling. I look past it, over the revolving-bed hotels, by-the-week tenements, abandoned shipping terminals, to the sea.

Calm today, the gray water fades into a hazy, blurred horizon, signaling an overcast morning marked by the unbearable heat and humidity of midsummer.

The weather encourages my lethargy, and I free my mind to wallow in reminiscence: my wife, long gone to a new life; my children, adopted by the man who replaced me; my sister, dead by her own hand. I am alone.

I think of Eugene O’Neill and Tennessee Williams. Men like me. Men who gloried in the fame and riches of success; men who drowned themselves in alcohol as they awaited death in big-city hotel rooms.

However, I am impatient. The monkey on my back is too heavy.

Again, I notice the peeling paint as I swing my legs over the railing. My only regret is that I fall from the fire escape of the seedy Hotel l’Alsace and not from a penthouse balcony at the Ritz.

 

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Short Fiction, Short Story, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Great Men Think Alike

  1. It’s not the roof or building that counts. It’s the jump style and size of audience.

    • vbholmes says:

      For a faded celebrity, the fire escape of the Hotel l’Alsace is definitely not the launch location of choice.
      Have a Happy Holiday season, Carl–even though it seems New Year’s 2016 was last week. We’re all too busy!

  2. Welcome back, but what a sad story! Hope all’s well with you and yours.

    janet

    • vbholmes says:

      Hi Janet,
      Everything is fine here–just too much to do and too little time. I tried NaNoWriMo, wrote 1300 words and accepted defeat. It was not meant to be this year, or I suspect, ever. November is always a busy month.
      Have a Happy Holiday Season, Janet, and Hi to Bill.

      • Our younger daughter did NaNoWriMo two years and made it, but I’ve never tried. Better to realize that it’s not going to work and then concentrate on real life. 🙂

  3. vbholmes says:

    Congratulations to your daughter! Especially if she’s still in art school as it involves a tremendous commitment of time. Sounds like she’s a multi-talented young lady.

Leave a Reply

