Sammy, the Gat: “The Feisty Feline Boots Me From The Catbird Seat”

(Sammy, the Gat, is a continuing story.)

I hit the tarmac, and my new go-to girl, Cat, and I finally cruise into Casablancaville. ETA minus one. The Feisty Feline boots me from the catbird seat and back-alleys us to a seedy sand-spit hotel with a rock-’em-sock-’em fully-stocked saloon. Cat sidles up to a dolly standin’ guard over the bottles who walks Hello Kitty to a side door. I fig I could use a belt from one of those jugs with the uptown labels, so I belly up to the bar and digitize a Stoli. Next thing I know, I’m flat on my puss with an AK 47 nuzzlin’ my think tank. I’m guessin’ C’blancans thumbs-up Russian rat-a-tats, but not their booze.

(Click to catch up on Sammy, the Gat.)

THE GATIONARY of Sammy Speak.

AK 47: n. assault rifle developed in Russia.   catbird seat: n. position of importance.
digitize: v. point finger.   dolly: n. woman.   Hello Kitty: n. Japanese fictional character.
Stoli: n. Stolichnaya (Russian) vodka.

(Photo by Ted Strutz. Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, Friday Fictioneers, May 8, 2013.)

Introducing SAMMY, THE CAT (with a capital C)

Sammy the Cat photo (1)

(Photo by Michael Wittich)

I am Sammy, the Cat, and I was named after that world-renowned hip hit man, Sammy, the Gat. I’m only three weeks old, but as you can see, I’m a pretty ferocious fellow, and with my mentor havin’ already seven notches on his gun butt, I have a first-class rep to match. So far, small insects are my prey, but I see bigger game in my future. Stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Sammy, the Gat: “The Feisty Feline Boots Me From The Catbird Seat”

  1. Looks like a Cat-astrophe for Sammy. I see you have a whole new meaning for “digitize” here. In fact, Sammy the Cat might go for your digits if you aren’t careful.

    I laughed about Hello Kitty. One of our daughters used to like to shop at Hot Topic, which was full of black clothing with chains and studs. But they also had all sorts of Hello Kitty and similar things, a paradox I found quite amusing.

    janet

    • vb holmes says:

      It’s fun to fracture the English every now and then–and Sammy, the Cat, does, indeed, go for the fingers. You’re right about the contrast between Hello Kitty and Goth–a store which features both must encourage an eclectic fashion sense..

  2. JulesPaige says:

    I am confident that Sammy can talk his way out of anything. As always an enjoyable read.
    Adoring the new four footed furry family addition. Too cute!!!

    It is fun writing with another author – even with differences in styles. I think we manage to plod along 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

    • vb holmes says:

      Thanks, Jules–Have to wait for next week’s pic to find out how Sammy gets out of this one. Sammy, the Cat (with a capital C) is a family member, but not mine. I plan to see him frequently as he is one cute cat!
      I enjoy your joint efforts with Alastair, they add even more interest to the posts.

  3. Hillary Wittich says:

    what a hoot! Sammy lives up to his reputation :)!

  4. Sandra says:

    I was wondering where Sammy the Gat had gone. A welcome return, and a lovely photo of kitty too. Such beautifuly blue eyes…

  5. vb holmes says:

    He’s glad to be back–and honored to have a namesake. Unfortunately, I fear little Sammy’s eyes will age to green–but for the moment, they are a brilliant contrast to his black fur.

  6. kz says:

    i don’t know who i love more, sammy or hello kitty.lol this was very entertaining. a fun read 🙂

  7. Mystikel says:

    This is my first time meeting Sammy the Gat but he obviously gives new meaning to the phrase Cool Cat and the kitten is sooo adorable!

  8. petrujviljoen says:

    Glad to meet Sammy. I think my cat, Charlie, may fit into that crowd. A nice read.

  9. unspywriter says:

    Sammy needs to watch those Russians; they have wery long memory! I was looking forward to seeing how Sammy would react. And Sammy the Cat is adorably ferocious.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/if-at-first-you-dont-succeed/

    • vb holmes says:

      We’ll see–the AK 47 is a formidable adversary, as I’m sure Mai and Alexei will attest. And Sammy, the Cat, is taking his Sammy-the-Gat education seriously–aspiring to high places and delving into mysterious low spots.

  10. Seems Sammy6’s in a jam.

  11. never mess with the booze.. but I like that Cat. Hope to see more

  12. vb holmes says:

    Especially stay away from the booze in a country which frowns on its consumption. As for Sammy, the Cat, he’s too cute to ignore for long.

  13. nightlake says:

    now they are just insects, but what plans does he have? and look into his eyes.

  14. vb holmes says:

    Behind those baby-blues lurks the soul of an epic hero–a defender of his domain (definitely a notch-collector par excellence). Insect-chasing is just a warm-up activity.

  15. When I stop cackling with unashamed laughter…. Great! Lvve it! Want more Sammy Gat!

  16. elappleby says:

    I’d love Gatspeak to catch on – we’d all sound so much more musical! Great stuff once again.

  17. Loving the new Sammy the Cat! Too cute! Not sure what my two cats (6 and 7 years old) would think about him, though! Sammy the Gat is quite the character. 🙂

  18. I predict a lifetime of mischief………….

Leave a Reply

