“Ready to Blow”

They’re laughing at me again.
I see them.
I hear them.
I know.
They think I’m a geek.
Not the good kind.
Not the guy
who knows
all about tech.
I’m the one
who knows
all about nothing.
I don’t play sports.
I’m not in the band.
I don’t shine
on the debate team.
I don’t write
for the school newspaper.
I’m the kid
who keeps his hoodie
on
all day in class.
I chew pencils
instead
of tobacco.
I drink milk
instead of soda
or beer
behind the library.
I don’t go out
with girls.
I don’t even look at them.
Yesterday
in phys ed
they stole my pants
and my gym shorts.
I had to go to the coach
and borrow sweats
so I could go home.
I didn’t tell.
But soon
everyone will know.
They’ll know who I am.
They’ll know I am smart.
They’ll know I am powerful.
They’ll know
that I know
how to build a bomb.
Three
to be exact.
I’ve been working to plan.
One is in place
in the school
cafeteria.
Two are ready
to go
or
to be exact
ready to blow.
My backpack
is packed.
My notes
are written.
My escape route
is sure
with a plan B
if ….
I don’t think of that.
I think only
of the headlines.
The fame.
The shock.
The disbelief
of my classmates
my teachers
the administration
the parents.
My parents.
I don’t think of them.
This time tomorrow
I’ll know
if I am
indeed
the coolest of the cool.

(Written for dVersePoets, Open Link Night 98, May 28, 2013.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Poetry, Short Fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to “Ready to Blow”

  1. billgncs says:

    how can I not hate
    for I despise weakness
    and it’s all that fills me

  2. Dave Higgins says:

    Having seen the occasional misfit grow into their selves, I am always saddened when one takes a darker path while still too young to grasp the possibilities.

    • vb holmes says:

      Very true, Dave–school reunions are great eye openers! It’s amazing to see some of the class geeks ten years after graduation. And we all hope the current late maturers make it safely through the trying teenage years.

  3. A look inside–very powerful write

  4. Rhonda L. Brockmeyer says:

    Yikes. It is frightening. It makes me sad for the silent, scared for the fools, and yet, I must say…the deranged thinking of the criminal will never recieve pity from me. The innocent pay for the sins of the guilty. Sad societal truths.

  5. Alex Dissing says:

    So sad that this is often the case. It’s also very sad & quite frankly, frustrating, that the media makes these disturbed individuals household names. Powerful write.

  6. Columbine came to mind and sent shivers down my spine.

  7. That’s a scary story… I hesitaded to press like.. but I was probably a little bit of a geek like that in school… and I know I didn’t house any plans to build a bomb… so there are geeks and geeks also in this cathegory.

  8. brian miller says:

    geez dude…first, the bullying sucks…a second, where does one turn when they feel so powerless…does this give them the power back…sadly we have seen it a few times now…bullying should be eliminated and severely punished so we dont get there…

  9. Mary says:

    Oh my gosh, this took my breath away. You got inside the mind of the kind of person who really would try to pull something like this off. So realistic…..and yes, bullying sucks, and so tragic with some of those bullied that it would come to something like this. Strong writing. I’m breathing hard.

  10. You captured this young man’s pain and his idea of a solution. As a former high school teacher, I can recall the few students who were a concern to us and to the administration. No matter how much help these kids get to prevent a crisis, unfortunately, some have already made up their mind.

  11. Well-written journey into the possible mind of a terrorist.

    janet

  12. David Eric Cummins says:

    I had very similar experiences when I was in school, so I can certainly understand those feelings. Luckily, I chose a path that didn’t lead to violence.
    Great write!

  13. Chilling and very powerful. Wow

  14. bostonpoetry says:

    Sheesh, can I relate. Crazy of me to think like that? Maybe. But I was that kid, middle school through junior year in high school. The difference? Acting versus not acting on impulses. I am proud to say I survived that hell and came out better for it. What a powerful piece. -Mike

Leave a Reply

