“The Chap In The Hat”

 

 

The Business men's Goodbye by Catrin Welz-Stein

To fly on the tail
of a beastly gale
is the dream of some.

I prefer the gift
of a gentle drift
and a soothing hum.

The wind in my face
and loving embrace
of my bestest chum.

My coach is my hat
my chum is my cat
We soar with aplomb.

We have all we need
aloft on our seed
no cares to run from.

The wind shifts to west
a descent is best.
Time for lunch, calls Mum.

(Written for dVersePoets. September 28, 2013.)

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Micro Fiction, Poetry, Short Fiction, Short Story and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to “The Chap In The Hat”

  1. Yes. I love the child’s imagination here.

  2. Truedessa says:

    Enjoyed this one..I too prefer the gift of a gentle drift and a soothing hum..

  3. brian miller says:

    ha.. nice…i rather like the drift along myself instead of rushing…i like the rather whimsy too of traveling along with your cat…and hat…and you better hurry to catch that lunch mum made…smiles.

  4. Wonderful to drift along.. and the end is charming.. you can write a childrens book…

  5. claudia says:

    awwww….and mom always called us in in the most exciting moments of our play…smiles.. lots of fun in this…nice

  6. Mary says:

    This is really a joy-filled poem and was fun to read aloud.

  7. Waltermarks says:

    I prefer the gentle drift as well. I’ve gotten too old and my bones don’t handle the high winds well. Good idea there my friend, easy does it.

  8. Grace says:

    What an imagination, love it ~ This part is particualry lovely:

    I prefer the gift
    of a gentle drift
    and a soothing hum.

  9. Dave Higgins says:

    Full marks for using aplomb.

  10. Gentle drift is the consensus I agree. Reminds me of carefree days sitting in a field blowing dandelions and day dreaming. Love the title.

  11. My good friend Peter Pan would like this.

  12. Eric Alagan says:

    Mothers have a knack for bringing us back to earth 🙂

Leave a Reply

